[Nameplate] Fog/Mist ~ 63°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 49°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Former GHS standout wins NCAA swim title

Monday, March 12, 2007

HOUSTON -- Former Greencastle High School standout and current Kenyon College sophomore Tracy Menzel won the NCAA Division III National title in the 100-yard breaststroke Saturday and helped Kenyon win the overall title.

Menzel set a Kenyon record in the event with a time of 1:03.69. She also swam the breaststroke leg for Kenyon's 200-yard medley relay team, which also placed first at the Championships, which took place in Houstong. The relay team also set a school-record time of 1:43.92.

In the breastroke, Menzel slipped by Allie Foster of Johns Hopkins for the victory. Calvin freshman Emily Roberts was third.

During the first day of competition, Menzel also placed 15th in the 200-yard individual medley.

Menzel also competed in the 200-yard breaststroke, placing 12th in the nation overall with a time of 2:22.79. Kaitlyn Orstein of Washington and Jefferson won the title with a time of 2:17.36.

Menzel became the first Kenyon swimmer to win the event since Jeannine Gury won its three straight years from 1987-89. Last season, Menzel finished 10th in the same event as a freshman in Minneapolis.

Kenyon was second in the nation last year, but managed to win the team title this season. The team finished the three-day meet with a total of 538 points to win its 21st team title overall.

Amherst was second with 320 points while defending champion Emory was third with 295 points. Calvin came in fourth with 283 points and Denison was fifth with 267 points.

Kenyon's 200 medley relay team consisted fo Menzel, Carolyn Barer, Elizabeth Carlton and Tina Ertel.

During the three-day event, Kenyon was victorious in eight of the 18 swimming events. Brittany Sasser of Amherst was named Swimmer of the Year and Calvin College's Erica Deur was named Diver of the Year. In addition, Aaron Paskran of Calvin was named Diving Coach of the Year.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: