[Nameplate] Fair ~ 52°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Hayden rolls to UMP win; Siscoe takes sprints

Monday, April 30, 2007

For the BannerGraphic

Racing fans were treated to sunny skies and a pit area brimming with race cars on Saturday at Lincoln Park Speedway.

With Paragon Speedway taking the evening off, 41 sprint cars unloaded to compete for the winners' share at the 5/16th mile clay oval in Putnamville.

Bloomington native Jon Siscoe scored a popular victory in the sprint car feature, getting by California native Cole Whitt in the race's latter stages for the victory.

After winning last week's opener, Bobby Stines rolled home for a third place finish and continues to impress, along with Whitt in the early week's of midwestern racing. But on Saturday, it was Siscoe's turn in the spotlight, after taking the green flag from the 11th starting spot, he stalked the competition over the early laps and bided his time past a pair of red flags for flips, one by Kerry Kinser and another by Bill Baker.

Stines led in the early going, but Whitt made his move on the bottom of turns one and two to take the point shortly before Deckard's ride. On the restart, Whitt created some space for himself up front as Siscoe took over the second position with a run off the cushion to edge out Stines who now had his hands full with A.J. Anderson for the third spot. Siscoe would methodically reel in Whitt, planting himself against the cushion while Whitt held fast to the bottom. But in the end, Siscoe would finally get a big enough run to take over the lead from the Red Bull/Northstar sponsored 29w machine.

Once he had nabbed the point, Siscoe held the competition in check in with his Dalex Inc.

Fabrication and Machine/ Super Oldies sponsored machine for his first win of the season at Lincoln Park. Whitt remained in second place ahead of Stines, Anderson and Kyle Cummins in the top five. Casey Shuman, Terre Haute's Shawn Krockenberger was eighth with Robbie Rice and Zac Osborn making up the top-10.

In the UMP Modified class, 34 cars unloaded for Saturday's action and Jimmy Hayden scored a victory in his first race at the Putnamville oval this year.

Hayden led from the outset in his lightning quick ReMax Unlimited, Don's Garage and North Salem Food Plaza ride. The 15J took the green flag and never lapsed despite a great deal of shuffling and a handful of caution flags the bunched up his competition behind him.

Phil VanSant and defending track champion Paul Bumgardner were in hot pursuit in the feature's early stages with Kenny Carmichael Sr. in the mix as well.

Hayden would eventually delve into lapped traffic and handled the challenge admirably despite the advances of Bumgardner and high school senior, Dan Lewellen who has impressed early this season. The youngster, fresh off a runnerup finish at Gas City last week, made his

presence felt amongst the leaders on Saturday, eventually taking third place behind Bumgardner and just ahead of Kevin McCarty, who charged from a 17th starting position.

Lewellen, rose from his 15th starting spot and gave Bumgardner plenty during the final laps while Travis Shoulders made the move from 18th and put on a dazzling 3-way scrum with McCarty and VanSant near the end.

Carmichael Sr. eventually held off the wolves for fifth ahead of Shoulders, VanSant, Schuyler Nahre, Chase Sterrett and Jay Turner in the top-10.

In the super stock and bomber class, it was a good day to be driving a Franklin-built mount, as Joe Whisler won the super stock main event for his first ever feature win and Ben Williams outlasted the field for the bomber victory.

Whisler took the lead from the outside of the front row and held off last week's victor, Doug McCullough throughout most of the laps before Winston Howe climbed into second ahead of Carlos Bumgardner in the race's closing circuits. Kenny Carmichael Jr. assumed fourth ahead of Kris Starks, McCullough, Curt Leonard and Josh Burton who charged to eighth from a 20th starting spot. Marty Cooper started 21st and finished ninth ahead of Michael Williams Sr.

In the bombers, Williams got to the front early on in his E.H. Hamilton Trucking, Stockwell Homes and Williams & Sons Body Shop ride. He was able to hold off Mooresville's Jeremy Payne and Marlin Burns down the stretch. Terre Haute's Darrell Richardson placed fourth ahead of David Wallen, Chad Nolte, Lloyd Walls, Travis Heramb, Ron Smith and Brazil's Ron Wallen Jr. and Sr.Next week, the track will celebrate Mother's Day as all mothers will receive a gift.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint Car Feature

1. Jon Siscoe, 2. Cole Whitt, 3. Bobby Stines, 4. A.J. Anderson, 5. Kyle Cummins, 6. Danny Holtsclaw, 7. Casey Shuman, 8. Shawn Krockenberger, 9. Robbie Rice, 10. Zac Osborn, 11. Jeff Bland, 12. Billy Puterbaugh, 13. Jason Holt, 14. Craig Dori 16. Ty Deckard, 17.

Mitch Wismiller, 18. Kevin Studley, 19. Kerry Kinser, 20. Blake Fitzpatrick

UMP Modified Feature

1. Jimmy Hayden, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Dan Lewellen, 4. Kevin McCarty, 5. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 6. Travis Shoulders, 7. Phil VanSant, 8. Schuyler Nahre, 9. Chase Sterrett, 10. Jay Turner, 11. Jared Hix, 12.

Rick Fulford, 13. Kenny Brewer, 14. Jeremy Edmondson, 15. Gary Hall, 16. Chris Kerl, 17. Chad Combs, 18. Eric Morris, 19. Chris Brewer, 20. Clint DeMoss

Super Stock Feature

1. Joe Whisler, 2. Winston Howe, 3. Carlos Bumggarder Sr., 4. Kenny Carmichael Jr. 5. Kris Starks, 6. Doug McCullough, 7. Curt Leonard, 8. Josh Burton, 9. Marty Cooper, 10. Michael Williams Sr., 11. Jeff Van Lannen, 12. Mark Dickerson, 13. Randy Howe, 14. Ken Kelley,

15. Larry Miller, 16. David Henderson, 17. Bobby Price, 18. Jeff Starks, 19. David Bumgardner, 20. Robert Henderson

Bomber Feature

1. Ben Williams, 2. Jeremy Payne, 3. Marlin Burns, 4. Darrell Richardson, 5. David Wallen, 6. Chad Nolte, 7. Lloyd Walls, 8. Travis Heramb, 9. Ron Smith, 10. Ron Wallen Jr., 11. Ron Wallen Sr., 12. Chris Wood, 13.

Joe Wrightsman, 14. Stan Sandusky, 15. R.D. Corbin, 16. Larry Rowley III, 17. Dale Lewis, 18. Larry Shelley Jr., 19. Donnie Parker, 20. B.J. Brewer

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: