[Nameplate] Light Rain ~ 50°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Hollingsworth wins second straight at LPS

Monday, June 2, 2008

Saturday night proved to be twice as nice for Shane Hollingsworth.

The current Lincoln Park Speedway sprint car points leader advanced his season lead to 54 over second-place Billy Puterbaugh by scoring his second-straight victory.

The win didn't come without a bit of luck, however. Danny Holtsclaw led through the early laps and began to stretch that advantage over the field. But near the midpoint of the feature, Holtsclaw made contact with Marc Arnold during a skirmish for the point. The brush upset Holtsclaw's line and he also clipped the charging Billy Puterbaugh coming off turn two.

The resulting yellow spelled the end for Holtsclaw's night and gave a brief lead to Arnold, piloting Casey Shuman's familiar No. 57.

On the re-start, Dickie Gaines had designs on the top spot and chose the cushion to make his charge.

Arnold grabbed the inside line and the duo put on a side-by-side show for the fans with Puterbaugh in third and Hollingsworth holding off sprint car rookie Jesse Cramer.

A caution flag brought about the chance that Gaines needed as Jimmy Light came to a stop on the backstretch.

On the re-start, Gaines took over the top spot and proceeded to steal away from the field.

Leading by nearly a straightaway, the Gaines' night came to a close several laps too early when he bobbled a bit coming out of three and got upside down to bring out the red flag with nine laps remaining.

Hollingsworth was the lucky recipient of the mistake and took over the lead and would not be caught once the green waved.

With his teeth set on another feature win, Arnold had his hands full with Puterbaugh down the stretch. Todd Kimmell, starting way back in the 17th spot, put on a three-wheeling, crowd pleasing run all the way up to the fifth spot behind Cramer. Stephanie Tuttle did much the same, starting 14th and picking her way forward to take eighth behind Troy Link.

Kimmell and Cramer's dual to the checkers highlighted the final laps with Cramer edging out the No. 33 for fourth behind defending track champion Puterbaugh.

Bill Rose and Kenny Carmichael Jr. wrapped the top-10.

The lead wasn't a fortuitive spot to be for the super stock main either.

Season points leader Chris Hillman blew through the field from his 11th starting spot to grab the lead just past the midway point. He looked to have a fourth win at LPS sewn up with one lap to go and a comfortable lead, but a broken A-arm in the left front slowed his charge.

Early leader Kenny Carmichael Jr. pounced on the opportunity to zip by in the final corners followed by Joe Whisler. Hillman would finish up third ahead of Slick Griffin and A.J. Smith.

Carmichael was tested early by Kris Starks followed by Smith. But Hillman was not to be denied in his charge to the front.

After picking off the first nine cars in front of him, Hillman made an impressive dart to the bottom in turn two to get past both Starks and Carmichael.

But it was not to be.

Carmichael cemented third-place in season points behind the leader, Hillman, with 323 points. Whisler is 25 points back with Carmichael just three behind in third and David Bumgardner in fourth.

Bumgardner placed sixth in the feature followed by Starks, Cullen Goodman, Curt Leonard and Joe Starks.

In the UMP Modified feature, Ray Humphrey made up for some unfortunate luck suffered at Bloomington Speedway on Friday night, spinning while running second in the feature.

There would be no such discontent on Saturday.

Humphrey came up from fourth. Clint DeMoss had the early advantage, but had his rearview full of Travis Shoulders, Wes McClara and Humphrey.

Humphrey loves the cushion and found some more success there on Saturday, slipping into first place ahead of DeMoss coming out of turn four.

Phil VanSant settled into fourth-place and Shoulders set into a side-by-side fight for third with Paul Bumgardner and McClara.

With those three duking it out, Humphrey pulled to a strong lead with DeMoss holding off the competition in the runner-up spot.

Bumgardner slipped into third-place ahead of VanSant and Kenny Carmichael Sr. blasted through the field after being forced to run the 'B' main. He would come through the field for an impressive fifth-place ahead of Mark Auler, Carlos Bumgardner Sr., Marlin Burns and Brian Kempf.

Humphrey's win, powered by a Williams' racing engine, moved him into the top-10 in season points with

Carmichael is leading the season chase ahead of Bumgardner, just one point behind (290-289). Daryl Herbert, Saturday's hard luck driver, who led his heat race before mechanical problems and was running strong in the feature before more problems and an 18th place finish.

In the bomber feature, C.J. Bryan snagged his second feature win of the year to overshadow Lloyd Walls' drive from the back all the way to second in the 17-car field.

Ron Wallen Sr. finished third in his return following some health problems several weeks ago. David Bumgardner came in fourth ahead of David Wallen, Ron

Smith, Kevin Kemp, Michael Thompson, Gary Long and B.J. Brewer.

Bryan's win in the Joe's Hobby Barn and Durabuilt machine, moves him to within four points of Walls in the points chase, 327 to 323.

Next week will be "Salute to Brazil" night with all residents with a state-issued ID receiving $2 off admission.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint Car Feature

1. Shane Hollingsworth, 2. Marc Arnold, 3. Billy

Puterbaugh, 4. Jesse Cramer, 5. Todd Kimmell, 6. Blake

Fitzpatrick, 7. Troy Link, 8. Stephanie Tuttle, 9.

Bill Rose, 10. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 11. J.T.

Imperial, 12. Derek Williams, 13. Danny Pollock, 14.

Dickie Gaines, 15. Jimmy Light, 16. Bobby Stines, 17.

Danny Holtsclaw, 18. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 19. Cole

Whitt, 20. Aaron Mosley

Heat winners: Jimmy Light, Danny Holtsclaw, Marc


B-Main winner: Kenny Carmichael Jr.

UMP Modified Feature

1. Ray Humphrey, 2. Clint DeMoss, 3. Paul Bumgardner,

4. Phil VanSant, 5. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 6. Wes

McClara, 7. Mark Auler, 8. Carlos Bumgardner, 9.

Marlin Burns, 10. Brian Kempf, 11. Jaymie Turner, 12.

Chris Brewer, 13. Garry Ricketts,14. Brent Warner, 15.

Robert Albright, 16. Travis Shoulders, 17. Doug Bryant

Jr., 18. Daryl Herbert, 19. Gary Hall, 20. Jared Hix

Heat winners: Carlos Bumgardner Sr., Ray Humphrey,

Travis Shoulders

B-Main winner: Daryl Herbert

Super Stock Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 2. Joe Whisler, 3. Chris

Hillman, 4. Slick Griffin, 5. A.J. Smith, 6. David

Bumgardner, 7. Kris Starks, 8. Cullen Goodman, 9. Curt

Leonard, 10. Joe Starks, 11. Scott Harrington, 12.

Travis Heramb, 13. Elijah Himinger, 14. Steve

Carpenter, 15. Derek Doub

Heat winners: Kenny Carmichael Jr., Kris Starks

Bomber Feature

1. C.J. Bryan, 2. Lloyd Walls, 3. Ron Wallen Sr., 4.

David Bumgardner, 5. David Wallen, 6. Ron Smith, 7.

Kevin Kemp, 8. Michael Thompson, 9. Gary Long, 10.

B.J. Brewer, 11. Bill Brewer, 12. Daylan Chambers, 13.

Ryan Freeland, 14. Sean Yakel, 15. Dustin Shoulders,

16. Ron Wallen Jr., 17. Greg Riser

Heat Winners: Lloyd Walls, Dustin Shoulders

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: