[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Stines grabs King of Non-Wing title at LPS

Monday, September 1, 2008

PUTNAMVILLE -- Bobby Stines is no stranger to the fast line around Lincoln Park Speedway.

Bobby Stines claimed the King of Non-Wing title at LPS Saturday night.
As a former track champion, Stines has also found his way to victory lane quite a few times and Saturday night he claimed the title of King of Non-Wing at the Putnamville oval with a dominating feature performance.

How dominating?

Stines started ninth in the feature and picked off competitors sometimes two at a time to get to the front, squeezing past Todd Kimmell and Billy Puterbaugh for the lead short of the halfway point of the 30-lapper.

Once out front, Stines got in a stunning groove, lapping the field all the way up to the third-place finisher.

Kimmell started the feature on the outside of the front row and was able to establish a comfortable, but brief, lead on the field before a red flag came out for a flip by Michael Bridges in turn four.

On the restart, Puterbaugh, who had won three consecutive sprint features coming into this week, zeroed in on Kimmell. Jon Siscoe and Andrew Prather were close behind with Stines already up to fifth-place.

The competition for the second spot was heated with four cars jockeying for the position. Prather proved to the be the first casualty of the side-by-side war, diving to the bottom and getting a bit to sideways after nosing under Puterbaugh in turn three. The resulting spin sent him to the back where he would eventually work back to 11th overall.

When the green flew on the restart, Kimmell still held the lead, but Stines and Puterbaugh were dogging his tail tank. Stines blasted into turn three's bottom line and was able to get a good run under both Kimmell and Puterbaugh.

By the time they group had reached turn one, Stines had taken over the lead leaving the tussle for second to the rest of the field.

Stines' Stewart Automotive and Transmission, Hurst Bros. Racing sprinter proceeded to check out on Puterbaugh and Kimmell on the way to the win.

The battle for fourth turned into a good one as well Stephanie Tuttle claimed fourth ahead of the hard charging Kenny Carmichael Sr., who worked his way up from 16th to fifth. Ty Deckard claimed sixth at the finish ahead of Broc Burton and Kenny Carmichael Jr. Young Tyler Reddick from California placed ninth and Troy Link took 10th.

In the second sprint feature of the night, Brazil native Doug Heck roared to a big win over Kevin Studley and Brian Lake. Eric Edwards, Steve Thomas, John Boyd, Dave Peperak, Joe Varvel, Curt Eldredge and Anthony Leohr.

Heck's win was his first at Lincoln Park and came in the Honey Creek Machine No. 55 sprint car.

Stines wasn't the only Bloomington native to find his way to the winner's circle on Saturday night.

Ray Humphrey wired the field in UMP Modified racing, starting on the pole and never relinquishing the lead as Travis Shoulders won by the width of his front bumper over Wes McClara in one of the best battles of the evening.

Shoulders took his familiar cushion busting spot at the top and McClara's No.45m machine found a fast way around the bottom.

The two ran door to door for much of the second half of the race, swapping the lead back and forth by a nose. But at the finish line, Shoulders was just able to out drag McClara off turn four to grab the second spot. Greg Amick grabbed fourth ahead of Brad Robinson and Harold Grayless. Mark Auler was seventh ahead of Paul Bumgardner, Kenny Carmichael Sr. and Cullen Goodman.

For Humphrey, the win was his fifth of 2008 at Lincoln Park Speedway and came in the Reeves Logging, Monroe County Equipment, Blue Rhino, Ferrell Gas and Fox's Cycle Sales sponsored machine built by Franklin Racecars.

For Amick, the turnaround from a fourth-place run in the modifieds was only a tune-up for his UMP Super Stock skirmish that followed.

Amick and Chris Hillman put on a side-by-side eye popper of a race from the opening green flag to the final checkers. The pair duked it out lap after lap with neither driver giving an inch to the finish line. In the end, it was Amick edging Hillman out in his JB's Auto Salvage, Davis Automotive Racing Engines, One for All, Farley Racing No. 16j machine.

Slick Griffin grabbed the third spot ahead of Curt Leonard, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Kris Starks, Roy Bruce Jr., Doug McCullough, Tami Lawson and Scott Carrington.

In bomber competition, Lloyd Walls edged a bit closer to the season points lead held by C.J. Bryan, by winning his fourth feature of the season in the RP Productions Custom Cabinets, Maher Contracting, Dr. Steven Black Optometry sponsored car.

Walls won from the pole, holding off a good run from David Wallen during the early laps of the race and adding to his lead in lapped traffic.

Bryan was able to claim the eventual runner-up spot ahead of Dustin Shoulders run from 10th to third-place. David Daniels placed fourth followed by Ben Williams, Bob Farris, Ryan Freeland, Kevin Kemp, Ron Wallen Jr. and Ron Wallen Sr.

Next weekend will be the fifth annual Patriot 100 race for modifieds, paying $2,000 to the winner of the race. There will also be 50 bonus points awarded to all classes, including bombers and super stocks also on the schedule.

At Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint car feature (King of Non-wing) -- 1. Bobby Stines, 2. Billy Puterbaugh, 3. Todd Kimmell, 4. Stephanie Tuttle, 5. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 6. Ty Deckard, 7. Broc Burton, 8. Kenny Carmichael Jr, 9. Tyler Reddick, 10. Troy Link, 11. Andrew Prather, 12. Chad Davenport, 13. Ryan Kaplan, 14. Jon Siscoe, 15. Jared Harris, 16. Brandon Mattox, 17. Michael Bridges, 18. Casey Shuman

Second sprint feature -- 1. Doug Heck, 2. Kevin Studley, 3. Brian Lake, 4. Eric Edwards, 5. Steve Thomas, 6. John Boyd, 7. Dave Peperak, 8. Joe Varvel, 9. Curt Eldredge, 10. Anthony Leohr

B-main winner: Kenny Carmichael Sr.

Heat winners: Jon Siscoe, Troy Link, Kenny Carmichael Jr.

UMP Modified feature -- 1. Ray Humphrey, 2. Travis Shoulders, 3. Wes McClara, 4. Greg Amick, 5. Brad Robinson, 6. Harold Grayless, 7. Mark Auler, 8. Paul Bumgardner, 9. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 10. Cullen Goodman, 11. Brad Thrasher, 12. Dan Lewellen, 13. Jared Hix, 14. Gordon Curtis, 15. James Tumey, 16. Chris Kerl, 17. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 18. Brian Kempf, 19. Phil VanSant, 20. Gary Hall

B-main winner: Greg Amick

Heat winners: Ray Humphrey, Travis Shoulders, Wes McClara

Super Stock feature -- 1. Greg Amick, 2. Chris Hillman, 3. Slick Griffin, 4. Curt Leonard, 5. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 6. Kris Starks, 7. Roy Bruce Jr., 8. Doug McCullough, 9. Tami Lawson, 10. Scott Carrington, 11. Tony Erdly, 12. Travis Heramb, 13. Mark Blalock, 14. Michael Beatty, 15. Erik Norman, 16. David Bumgardner, 17. David Zikes

Heat winners: Kenny Carmichael Jr., Chris Hillman

Bomber Feature -- 1. Lloyd Walls, 2. C.J. Bryan, 3. Dustin Shoulders, 4. David Daniels, 5. Ben Williams, 6. Bob Farris, 7. Ryan Freeland, 8. Kevin Kemp, 9. Ron Wallen Jr., 10. Ron Wallen Sr., 11. Sean Yakel, 12. Michael Thompson, 13. Justin Clodfelter, 14. Matt Freeman, 15. David Wallen, 16. Ronald Blake, 17. Frank Cotton, 18. Ron Smith, 19. Gary Long, 20. Cullen Sandusky

B-main winner: Ron Wallen Jr.

Heat winners: David Wallen, Ron Wallen Sr., C.J. Bryan

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: