[Nameplate] Fair ~ 55°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 48°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

DePauw hosts Midwest road race

Thursday, March 11, 2010

GREENCASTLE -- Racing begins again for the Midwest collegiate racers with a road race and team time trial on Saturday. As teams vie for National Championship points, some of the top cycling schools in the conference will gather to compete including Lindsey Wilson College (No. 1-D1) and Marian University (No. 2-D1).

An early morning start sees the Men's D category off at 8:30 a.m. The remaining five categories will follow on their heels at approximately one-hour intervals. The top racers for women and men line up at the start at 12:10 p.m. and 1:40 p.m. respectively.

The fun doesn't stop there, though. At 5 p.m. on Saturday, riders will don biking gear again for a five-mile team time trial. Even without aero equipment, racers will by flying along the smooth, fast course.

On Sunday, racing continues with the criterium, a half-mile loop that will offer superb spectator viewing. Once again, the Men's D begin the day at 9 a.m. The final race of the day is at 1:50 p.m. when the Men's A take off from the start.

Admission is free to all events. For more information, check out the online DePauw race flyer at www.mwccc.org/sp10/

About the DePauw Collegiate Races

The fast 8-mile road race takes riders thorough a quiet residential area on smooth, fairly flat roads. The event, held at Heritage Lake, will offer some beautiful viewing for spectators. And for fans who stick around, the TTT at Fillmore will also be fun to watch. The crit, a fast half-mile loop with six flat, wide turns, will be held at Crawfordsville High School.

Race Contact

Kent Menzel, 317-752-7076

About Collegiate Cycling

Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX, and cyclo-cross.

With over 4,500 student athletes and 300 collegiate clubs and teams, Collegiate Cycling is the division of USA Cycling responsible for administering competitive bicycle racing in 11 unique collegiate conferences.

Collegiate Cycling also oversees all four USA Cycling Collegiate National Championships: Track, Mountain Bike, Cyclo-cross, and Road, and recognizes collegiate club and athlete achievements with the Stenner and Kuck scholarships. To learn more about USA Cycling-Collegiate, visit www.usacycling.org/collegiate.

About the MWCCC

Composed of 60 schools, 750 athletes, and hosting more than 20 races annually, the MWCCC governs all USA Cycling collegiate competition in Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, and Missouri. Conference Director Andrew Rizzo organizes and manages the conference as a volunteer, and is available for contact at arizzo@usacycling.org.