[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 46°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

CMS students win Lugar contest

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Cloverdale Middle School student Joe Littiken won the Lugar Essay Contest and is pictured with Dave Wyeth, District 5 Farm Bureau Director, at the Farm Bureau district meeting in March. Fellow winner Deena Hesselgrave is not pictured.
MARSHALL -- Deena Hesselgrave and Joe Littiken, students at Cloverdale Middle School, were recently selected as the district winners for the Lugar Essay contest; they were honored at the Farm Bureau, Inc. spring district meeting in March conducted at Turkey Run State Park.

Since 1985, Senator Richard Lugar and Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc. have joined forces to sponsor a youth essay contest for eighth grade students. The topic always focuses attention on the importance of Indiana agriculture while increasing the awareness of young Hoosiers about the significance of Indiana agriculture.

One male and one female winner are selected by their county Farm Bureau, Inc. organization that goes on to compete at the district level. State winners are selected from those who win at the district level. District winners receive $50 savings bonds and state winners receive an all expense paid trip to Washington, D.C.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: