[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 50°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Election 2010

Monday, May 3, 2010

Tuesday is Primary Election Day -- the precursor to November's general election, and the day when it is decided what names will be on the ballots in November.

Polls will be open for voting from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

One of Putnam County's most hotly contested primary race is for sheriff -- two Republicans and two Democrats are vying for the chance to represent their parties.

Running for the Republican nod are incumbent Sheriff Steve Fenwick and Noble W. New. The Democrats seeking their party's nomination are Garry A. Clark and Frank H. Gardner.

Other contested races are Republican incumbent Recorder Jeanette Summitt against challenger Opal Sutherlin; Republicans Nancy R. Dennis and Lorie L. Hallett for assessor; and Republicans Larry L. Parker and Nancy E. Fogle for the District 2 county commissioner's seat.

Running unopposed at the county level in the primary are Republican incumbents Circuit Court Judge Matthew Headley, Prosecuting Attorney Timothy Bookwalter, Circuit Court Clerk Marty G. Watts, County Surveyor David E. Penturf, County Councilmen Roger L. Deck, H. Keith Berry and Darrel L. Thomas.

A hot race is shaping up at the state level.

One Democrat, W. Trent VanHaaften, will face one of eight Republican primary candidates in November for United States representative for District 8. Republicans seeking that nomination are Bud Bernitt, Larry D. Buchson, Billy J. Mahoney, John Lee Smith, John K. Snyder, Dan Stockton, Steve Westell and Kristi Risk.

That seat is currently occupied by Democrat Brad Ellsworth, who announced he would not seek reelection, but would instead seek a seat in the Senate.

Other hopefuls for the Republican bid in the Senate race include Don Bates Jr., Richard Behney, Dan Coats, John N. Hostettler and Marilin A Stutzman.

Also up for grabs is the state representative seat for District 44, in which Republican James Baird will challenge Democratic incumbent Nancy A. Michael.

Exclusive, up-to-the minute election coverage will be provided by the Banner Graphic on its Web site, www.bannergraphic.com, and in its print edition on Tuesday and Wednesday.