[Nameplate] Light Rain ~ 50°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

'Morning Joe' hosts to take part in DePauw Discourse

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Mika Brzezinski
GREENCASTLE -- The co-hosts of MSNBC's popular "Morning Joe," Joe Scarborough and Mika Brzezinski, will hold an interactive dialogue as part of "DePauw Discourse 2010: Peril or Promise? Journalism in the New Media Age."

The sessions, which are designed to engage the DePauw community, are scheduled for Sept.23 through 25.

Made possible by the G.D. and Gertrude R. Crain Lecture Series, Scarborough and Brzezinski's conversation will take place on Sept. 24 at 7:30 p.m. in the Judson and Joyce Green Center for the Performing Arts, Kresge Auditorium. The program is free and open to the public.

"An informed public is vital to society. How can journalism reliably deliver information amid today's increasing economic challenges and technology trends? This will be among the questions DePauw Discourse 2010 explores with distinguished guests and DePauw's own celebrated tradition of alumni journalists," said Joyce Taglauer Green '75, DePauw Discourse chair.

Joe Scarborough
Each day on "Morning Joe," Scarborough and Brzezinksi report and debate the headlines of the day with a roundtable of political insiders, journalists and newsmakers. TIME magazine has called the program "revolutionary." The New York Times ranked it as the top news show in 2008, and a 2010 follow-up praised Brzezinski and Scarborough's natural repartee and off-the-cuff commentary.

Scarborough served eight years in the U.S. House of Representatives. His initial election to Florida's First District seat in 1994 made him the first Republican since 1872 to represent the district. In 1999 Scarborough founded and published the award-winning newspaper, the Florida Sun.

Brzezinksi joined MSNBC in January 2007 after serving as an anchor of the CBS Evening News weekend edition and as a correspondent who frequently contributed to CBS Sunday Morning and 60 Minutes. Brzezinski is the daughter of former national security adviser Zbigniew Brzezinski, who visited DePauw in March 1998.

Their Sept. 24 conversation is but one of many highlights of DePauw Discourse 2010, which will also feature the following alumni and guest presenters: Eric D. Aasen '02, Dallas Morning News reporter; Meg Kissinger Boynton '79, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel reporter; David W. Greising '82, Chicago News Cooperative general manager; Clark Hoyt, former public editor of the New York Times; Shaun Higgins '71, president and COO of New Media Ventures; Dick Johnson '76, anchor/reporter for WMAQ-TV/NBC5 in Chicago; Marianna Spicer Joslyn, executive director for news standards and practices for CNN News Group; Mary Leonard Ramshaw '70, deputy managing editor of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; and Robert M. Steele '69, Phyllis W. Nicholas Director of the Janet Prindle Institute for Ethics and Distinguished Professor of Journalism Ethics at DePauw University and Nelson Poynter Scholar for Journalism Values at the Poynter Institute.

The Discourse program opens at 8 p.m. on Sept. 23 as Hoyt, Spicer Joslyn and Greising discuss the impact of dramatic changes in journalism.

All of the programs, except those involving meals, are free and open to all. Additional presenter and program information will be announced in the weeks ahead here.

"DePauw Discourse continues to be an ideal forum to explore and examine the important issues of our society. The future of journalism -- its value and its values -- has great significance to all of us as citizens and media consumers," said Steele, who, in addition to being among the presenters, is an adviser in the planning of DePauw Discourse 2010.

Established in 2004, DePauw Discourse is a symposium that brings some of the nation's leading thinkers, journalists and policymakers together with the University community. Previous participants have included L. Paul Bremer, Madeleine Albright, Lee H. Hamilton '52, Vernon E. Jordan '57, Robert F. Kennedy Jr., Samantha Power, Bill McKibben, Roger Wilkins, Margaret Spellings, Wallace J. Nichols '89, Bob Herbert, Allan Hubbard, Paul Volcker and Allan Hubbard.

Contact discourse@depauw.edu with questions or call Steve Setchell or Dana Moell, toll-free, at (800) 446-5298.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: