[Nameplate] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 53°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

NP cast to act in 'The Curious Savage'

Monday, November 8, 2010

Students from North Putnam will present "The Curious Savage" next week. Pictured from left are cast members Rebekah Thomas, Hannah Zehner, Brad Kimbler, Andrea Higgins, Micayla Jones, Chris Poore, Jennifer Ashmore, Colton Cox, Eli Klein, Kyle Cunningham and Emmy Rees. Contributed photo
ROACHDALE -- Students from North Putnam are set to present the play "The Curious Savage." The production will open Saturday.

The show centers around Mrs. Savage, who has been left $10 million by her husband and wants to make the best use of it -- in spite of the efforts of her grown-up stepchildren, who are trying to get their hands on the money.

The children, knowing the widow's wealth is in negotiable securities and realizing they cannot get at it, commit Mrs. Savage to a sanatorium, hoping to bring her to her senses.

Mrs. Savage gets to know the various characters living with her, and plans to spend the rest of her life with them and help them and people like them with her money. The stepchildren are driven to distraction by Mrs. Savage, who leads them on a merry chase.

Mrs. Savage's friends conspire to help her get rid of her stepchildren, and the show ends with a pleasant twist.

The cast includes Hannah Zehner as Florence; Brad Kimbler as Hannibal; Micayla Jones as Fairy May; Chris Poore as Jeffrey; Andrea Higgins as Mrs. Paddy; Kyle Cunningham as Titus Savage; Eli Klein as Samuel Savage; Emmaline Rees as Lily Belle Savage; Jennifer Ashmore as Mrs. Ethel Savage; Daniel Sparks as John Thomas; Rebekah Thomas as Miss Wilhelmina; and Colton Cox as Dr. Emmett.

"The Curious Savage" will be performed in the auditorium of North Putnam High School. Show dates and times are Nov. 13 at 7:30 p.m. and Nov. 14, at 2 p.m.

Admission is $3. Tickets will be available at the door.

The show is directed by Linda Gjesvold. Technical assistance is provided by Jamaica Rees, Wednesday Rees, Quade Bauman, D. J. Hubbard, Brian Hubbard, Gwen Mazur, Jerica Bean, Jared Lubinski and Christina Lewark.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: