[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 66°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Tigers torch John Carroll for victory

Thursday, December 30, 2010

The DePauw women's basketball team won the 2010 Amy Hasbrook Memorial Tournament championship Wednesday with its 85-47 win over John Carroll. Hasbrook's mother Barb joined the Tigers at center court following their win. Members of the DPU Tigers are Lauren Goff, Lindsay Vandivier, Maddie Radcliff, Kathryn Denbow, Brooke Osborne, Katie Mathews, Ellie Pearson, Kate Walker, Anne Mullen, Katie Aldrich, Alex Gasaway, Ann Sarkinsian, Ali Ross, Ashley Schopp, Casey Fougerousse, Kathleen Mollory, Erin McGinnis, Leah Freestone, Kristine Ruhl, Catie Ammerman, Alyssa Conway and Alison Stephens. [Order this photo]
GREENCASTLE -- Led by tournament MVP Lauren Goff's 14 points, DePauw captured the 2010 Amy Hasbrook Memorial Tournament title with an 85-47 win over John Carroll Wednesday.

The Tigers had four players in double figures. In addition to Goff, Katie Mathews and Ellie Pearson added 13 and 10 points, respectively. Alex Gasaway chipped in 10 points off the bench for DPU.

Goff connected on 4-of-9 three-pointers to lead a hot shooting DPU squad. As a team, DePauw shot 47 percent from the floor, including 39 percent from behind the arc. DePauw also received a lift from its bench as they outscored John Carroll 31-8.

Once again DePauw got off to a hot start and following back-to-back three-pointers from Kate Walker and Goff, DPU had a 21-10 advantage and they didn't take their foot off the gas.

Combining deft shooting and a stifling defense, DePauw built a halftime lead of 44-26, but their best was yet come.

After the two squads shared baskets in the opening of the second half, DePauw's defense stepped up and showed they are much more than a one-dimensional team. They outrebounded John Carroll 50-29, including 22 offensive rebounds.

John Carroll's Emilee Richie hit a jumper with 15:46 on the clock and that was the last basket the Blue Streaks saw for some time.

The Tigers' defense allowed them nothing and it wasn't until the 8:43 mark when they found the net again when Sadie Zander hit a jumper. During that time DePauw outscored John Carroll 17-0 eventually going up by 41 points at 77-36.

DePauw turned to its bench late and they didn't disappoint. As the clocked ticked away, DePauw was able to sustain its lead and went on to win by 38 points, 85-47.

In addition to Goff being named tournament MVP, teammate Katie Mathews joined her on the All-Tournament team. John Carroll's Richie and Lee Jennings were also named.

Pearson recorded a double-double for the Tigers, pulling down 11 rebounds in addition to her 10 points.

In the consolation game, Rose-Hulman defeated Ripon 71-54. Alisa Dickerson led the way with 13 points and eight rebounds.

The tournament is in honor of Amy Hasbrook, a 2000 DePauw graduate who died in a house fire on Feb. 2, 2002. Proceeds from the tournament will benefit The People's Burn Foundation of Indianapolis' Brave Hearts Camp. For more information about the camp/foundation visit peoplesburnfoundation.org

With the win DePauw moves to 9-2 on the season and is currently ranked 11th by D3Hoop.com and 16th in the USA Today/ESPN Coaches Poll.

DePauw will take the court again Sunday when it hosts Centre at 1 p.m.