[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 57°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Putnam one of 39 counties named in Gov. Daniels' request for federal aid

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels has requested federal public assistance for Putnam and 38 other counties in the aftermath of damage sustained by severe weather that began Jan. 31.

If approved, public assistance means state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations in these counties would be eligible to apply for federal assistance to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Putnam and the neighboring counties of Clay, Hendricks, Montgomery, Morgan, Owen and Parke are on the governor's list.

The other 32 Indiana counties listed are: Benton, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Decatur, Delaware, Fay-ette, Fountain, Franklin, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Jay, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Starke, Sullivan, Tipton, Union, Vermillion, Vigo, Warren and Wayne.

The governor is seeking federal public assistance following damage that occurred from snow and ice storms Jan. 31 to Feb. 4.

Gov. Daniels indicated further damage may be identified and he reserved the right to request assistance for additional counties.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: