[Nameplate] Fog/Mist ~ 63°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 49°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Area 30 Career Center Honors Excellence in Career and Technical Education

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Members of the National Technical Honor Society at Area 30 Career Center pose at the induction ceremony on Thursday, April 14.
On Thursday, April 14, Area 30 Career Center inducted 40 students as new members in National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) and honored 15 returning members who were inducted last year. NTHS is the acknowledged leader in the recognition of students who excel in career and technical education.

These students were identified by demonstrating outstanding scholastic achievement, skill development, leadership, honesty, responsibility and good character. Giving back to the community ranked as a high priority and students participated in a variety of service projects for agencies such as Central Indiana Blood Bank, Putnam County Humane Society, Putnam County Youth Development, Putnam County Library and Putnam County Emergency Food Pantry.

Students who pledge to membership receive a membership card and certificate giving them access to the NTHS website for life and benefits such as scholarship opportunities. They also receive a graduation tassel, membership pin and decal. In addition, all seniors receive honor cords to be worn at graduation.

The following exceptional new students were inducted into NTHS this year: Allied Health students Lindsay Bond, CHS; Mackenzie Cash, SPHS; Mallory Miller, GHS; Katlin Pierce, GHS; Darian Ray, GHS; Chelsea Samuels, GHS; Riley Seahorn, GHS; Raven Strand, NPHS; Macaulay Ward, EHS; and Kay Wood, GHS; Automotive Services Technology student Joshua Wilson, SPHS; Building Trades student Cody Heller, SPHS; 3D Animation student Patrick Allen, SPHS; Culinary Arts students Lacey Crawford, GHS; and Allison Guthrie, SPHS; Computer Systems Networking students Grant Earles, GHS; and Ethan Paxton, GHS; Early Childhood Education student Chelsea Phillips, NPHS; Emergency Medical Technician student Jesse Elkins, GHS; Nursing students Braden Amis, GHS; Crimson Brown, GHS; Morgan Christy, NPHS; LeeAnn Davis, NPHS; Marisa Fikes, NPHS; Katelyn Fulkerson, CHS; Kelsey Grzesiek, GHS; Altera Harris, NPHS; Mehgan Nordmeyer, NPHS; Kylie Phillippe, SPHS; Haley Pierce, GHs; and Hannah Wainman, GHS; ICE students Whitney Brotherton, GHS; Matthew Lane, GHS; and Maycee Nichols, GHS; Teacher Education students Nicole Boyle, GHS; Holly Jezior, GHS; Joseph Lenihan, GHS; and Dustin York, GHS; and Veterinary Technology students Chelsea David, NPHS and Joanna Reynolds SPHS.

Returning members of NTHS who were recognized and honored for their achievements included Wesley Anderson, Web Design; Kristen Arms, Early Childhood Education; Courtney Deal, Culinary Arts; and Brandon Fry, Veterinary Technology from OVHS ; Kayla Ault and Lauren Green, Nursing from NPHS; Heather Berens, Culinary Arts and Holly Jordan, Allied Health from SPHS; Josh Bonebrake, 3D Animation and Web Design; Chelsea Doan, Teacher Education and ICE; Hannah Pettit, Allied Health; Krystal Trimble, Teacher Education and ICE; Dakota Watson, Computer Integrated Manufacturing; and Skyanne White, Allied Health/Nursing from GHS; and Cord Watkins, Law Enforcement from EHS.

For more information about National Technical Honor Society visit nths.org.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: