[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 70°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Area football players named to WVFCA All-Star game

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Coaches and rosters have been set for this year's Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association All-Star game. Coach Steve Weber from Linton--Stockton was selected as head coach of the South team and Coach Troy Johnson from Mattoon will head the North team. This will be the 7th edition of this competition. First Financial Bank and the Terre Haute Convention and Visitors Bureau are the corporate sponsors of the event.

This year's game will again be played at ISU Memorial Stadium on Saturday June 25 with a 7:30 p.m. kick-off. The Awards Banquet will be held at Hulman Center on Friday June 24 at 6 p.m. with new ISU Head Football Coach Trent Miles as the key-note speaker.

An integral part of the All-Star Game program is the awarding of scholarships for the participants. The WVFCA will have awarded over $25,000 in scholarships to participants after this year. There is the WVFCA/Pete Varda Hall of Fame Scholarship that the players vote on and the Brett Eitel Memorial Scholarship based on academics and new this year will be a Coaches Pick scholarship awarded to a player on each team sponsored by Sir Thomas Automotive.

North Putnam assistant coach Dan Fouts will be an assistant with the North All-Star team.

North Putnam players named to the North All-Star squad were Travis Franklin, Aaron Vondersaar, Tyler Watson, Jordan Murphy, Travis Kratt and Caleb Vondersaar.

For the South All-Stars, Cloverdale will be represented by Josh Burdette and Matt Hall, while Greencastle's Jesse Vermillion was named to the team.

South Putnam will be represented by Tyler Williams, Dean Varvel, Adam Zigler, Grant Zimmerman, Brayden Freeman and Jake Gould.