[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 68°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 49°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

Pointer mascot memories highlight Bainbridge High School alumni fete

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Among those honored at the recent 2011 Bainbridge High School Alumni Association banquet were Ralph Beam (left) of Lizton and Mary Hendrich Blue Reed of rural Greencastle, both from the class of 1937, were honored as the graduates from the oldest class. Warren Etcheson (right), class of 1938, was recognized as having come the farthest to attend the banquet as he resides in Kirkland, Wash.
BAINBRIDGE -- Nearly 250 alumni and friends attended the 2011 Bainbridge High School (BHS) Alumni Association's 97th annual banquet recently at the Bainbridge Community Building.

The evening was highlighted with a presentation about the history of the school's Pointer dog mascot given by Donna Witty Lasley of Crawfordsville from the class of 1961. A special laminated copy of her report along with photos were presented to the BHS Alumni Association and will soon be shown on the BHS Alumni website.

On display up front for everyone to see at the banquet was the completely refurbished final wooden Pointer BHS mascot, often referred to as "Clem," that was originally on the wall above the home team's dressing room door in the old Bainbridge gymnasium.

Lasley and her husband, Jim, also from the class of 1961, had given the 4 x 8 foot "Clem" some repairs and a fresh coat of paint prior to the banquet.

Keith Lukenbill of rural Greencastle introduced his other 22 classmates in attendance and gave the response for the class of 1961 who graduated 50 years ago.

Members of the class present in addition to Keith Lukenbill, Donna Witty Lasley and Jim Lasley, included Linda Proctor Hartman, Sara Bridges, Margie Wysong, Mary Lynn Hanks Emery, Kay Cruse Abbott, Larry Parker, David Soots, Benny Chadd, Leroy Games, Larry Scobee, Daretha Nicholson Morgan, Glenna Blaydes Crispin, W.T. Watson, Tom Parker, Dr. John Clodfelter, Bill Hoke, John Anderson, Stanley Scobee, Gary Cooper and Ted Bock.

Members of the 1951 class (60 years since graduation) attending the banquet were Jeretta Sutherlin Brown, Carolyn Price Lawless, Bob Rooker, Gloria English Higgins, Leon Tippin, Joanne McAllister Day, Anna Ruth Worley Cummings and Bette Williams Bertram of rural Greencastle who gave the class response.

Warren Etcheson from the class of 1938 was recognized as having come the farthest to attend the banquet as he resides in Kirkland, Wash. Mary Hendrich Blue Reed of rural Greencastle and Ralph Beam of Lizton, both from the class of 1937, were honored as the graduates from the oldest class.

The Games and Tippin families tied with the most siblings present, four, from the same family who attended Bainbridge. The Games family members present were: Leroy Games, Rockville, class of 1961; Linda Games Stark, Crawfordsville, class of 1957; Marilene Games Frederick, Jamestown, class of 1955, and Charles Games, Plainfield, class of 1955.

Those attending from the Tippin family included Marilyn Tippin Phillips of Indianapolis, class of 1960; Margaret Tippin Kessinger, rural Bainbridge, class of 1956; Leon Tippin, Bainbridge, class of 1951 and Joanne Tippin Walker, Fairland, class of 1965.

Four former faculty members at BHS, Phyllis Smith, Bainbridge, Ken Tilford, Terre Haute, Jim Sharp, Quincy, and Pat Rady, Terre Haute, were introduced.

Eight graduates of North Putnam High School who had attended Bainbridge before it closed in 1969 were recognized.

The Class of 1965 had most classmates present with 11 for the alumni banquet from other than an honored class. The '65 classmates attending included: Bonnie Scobee Roberts, Sheila Porter Chadd, Linda York Smith, Mary Ruth Baker Dagenhart, Rose Ada Cooper Wood, Joanne Tippin Walker, Joe Martin, Rick Parent, Judy Thompson Parent, Marilyn O'Hair Winters and Linda Coffman.

Thursa Etcheson Evens of rural Bainbridge, class of 1945, spoke on behalf of the Bainbridge Improvement Society (BIS), which operates the Bainbridge Community Building. She encouraged everyone to see the display of historical Bainbridge items in the front hallway of the building. She also announced the sponsor bricks located at the north entrance to the building are being reconditioned and additional bricks can now be sponsored.

Just prior to the dinner, the Pledge of Allegiance was led by all veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces attending the banquet. The banquet was closed with several former cheerleaders leading everyone in the singing of the Bainbridge school song.

Members of the banquet decorating committee, in addition to the officers, included, past alumni president Tom Baker along with Melvin Keyt, Paula Martin and Anita Ferrand.

Officers of the Bainbridge High School Alumni Association this year included Rose Ada Cooper Wood, Greencastle, president; Carl Ferrand, rural Greencastle, vice president; Joe Martin, Bainbridge, treasurer; Brenda Brackney Heacock, rural Greencastle, recording secretary; and Alan Ader, Rockville, corresponding secretary.

As vice president, Ferrand automatically progresses to president for 2012 and from the class of 1962, Dr. Michael T. O'Hair, Kokomo, was elected as the new vice president. Joe Martin, Brenda Brackney Heacock and Alan Ader were re-elected to their positions.

The 98th Bainbridge High School Alumni banquet is scheduled for June 30, 2012 at the Bainbridge Community Building.

Further information is available on the Bainbridge Alumni website, www.bainbridgealumni.webs.com, which is maintained by Doyne Priest of Greencastle or by e-mailing Alan Ader at alan.ader@sbcglobal.net, Joe Martin at joepaula@indy.tds.net, Brenda Brackney Heacock at bgheacock@frontier.com or by calling one of the officers.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: