[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 52°F  
High: 56°F ~ Low: 43°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Putnam county's city and town ballots nearly set

Friday, July 22, 2011

In an age of ever-shrinking budgets from the State Board of Accounts, candidates for the thankless jobs of town and city government can be hard to find.

Nevertheless, voters in Putnam County's six municipalities will find a mix of familiar faces and new choices on their Nov. 8 ballots.

While most filing deadlines have passed for candidates, a couple of important dates still loom in August.

Monday, Aug. 1 is the deadline to register as a major party candidate in a town with a population of less than 3,500. All five of Putnam County's incorporated towns fit this category.

Should two candidates from a single party be seeking the same position, a town has until Saturday, Aug. 20 to conduct a town nominating convention to choose the party's candidate for November.

All filing deadlines for City of Greencastle candidates as well as independents in small towns have passed. Most town candidates in Putnam County have traditionally run as independents, so little is expected to change on the ballot in the coming weeks.

As it currently stands, those seeking office are as follows:

City of Greencastle


Sue Murray (D)*


Teresa Glenn (D)*

Lynda Dunbar (R)

Council At-Large

Phyllis Rokicki (D)*

Council Ward 1

Adam Cohen (D)*

Council Ward 2

Mark N. Hammer (R)*

Council Ward 3

Jinsie S. Bingham (D)*

Jade Griffin (R)

Council Ward 4

Terry J. Smith (R)*

Town of Bainbridge


Jason T. Hartman (I)*

Council Ward 1

David R. Crawley (I)

Chuck McElwee (I)*

Council Ward 2

Michael Lewis (I)

Bonnie L. Osborn (I)*

Jim Watson (I)

Council Ward 3

Richard D. Cope (I)*

Joel Thompson (I)

Town of Cloverdale


Cathleen Monaco (R)*

Laurie Monnett (I)

Council At-Large (Vote for 2)

Larry Fidler (R)*

Coweta Patton (R)

William David Lyon (I)

Council Ward 1

Gary E. Bennington (I)

Cathy Tipton (I)*

Council Ward 2

Donald E. Sublett (R)*

Town of Fillmore


Margaret E. Alexander (I)

Kari L. Bills (I)

Wanda Seidler (I)*

Council Ward 1

Curt Leonard (I)

James W. "Wes" Terhune (I)*

Council Ward 2

Alan Francis Jones (I)*

Council Ward 3

Tami S. Parker (I)*

Town of Roachdale


Brian Matthew Lathrop (I)

Martha Ann Louk (I)*

Kelly Marshall (I)

Kristy Yack (I)

Council At-Large (Vote for 3)

Zach Bowers (I)

Joe Cook (I)

Jim Cromwell (I)

Jack Jones (I)*

Rick Kiefer (I)

William R. Long (I)*

Barbara A. Scott (I)*

Town of Russellville


D. Devon Davis (I)

Sally Spencer McAfee (I)*

Council At-Large

Norma Jean Gross (I)*

Cathy Jones (I)

Betty Joy Need (I)

Don Reddish (I)*

Jim Rodgers (I)*


Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: