[Nameplate] Light Rain ~ 50°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Municipal voters head to polls Tuesday

Monday, November 7, 2011

Electing not to take sides, one local resident has provided equal time and space in her front yard to both candidates running for city clerk-treasurer in Tuesday's City of Greencastle election. Voters will go to the polls between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. Tuesday with only two races to choose from in Greencastle. Voters in the Third Ward will decide between incumbent Democrat Jinsie Bingham and Republican Jade Griffin for City Council, while citywide voters will chose between Democrat incumbent Teresa Glenn and Republican Lynda Dunbar for clerk-treasurer.
With no county, state or national elections on the slate, voters in Putnam County's towns and city will still take to the polls tomorrow (Nov. 8) to choose their leaders for the next four years.

Twenty-eight positions across the county are on the docket for 2011, with 19 contested races in these.

One quirk of this year's election will be that unopposed candidates will not appear on the ballot. While this is likely not a permanent change to the election process, a problem with the state law regarding elections has only contested races appearing on the ballot.

The polls will be open from 6 a.m.-6 p.m. in all six Putnam County municipalities.

Wednesday's Banner Graphic will have results of all races.


In Bainbridge, there will be continuity in the clerk-treasurer's position with incumbent Jason Hartman (I) unopposed.

Each of the town's three council members will face challenges.

In Ward 1 incumbent Chuck McElwee (I) faces off against challenger David Crawley (I).

Bonnie Osborn (I) will try to retain her Ward 2 council seat against Michael Lewis (I) and Jim Watson (I).

In Ward 3 Richard Cope (I) faces a challenge from Joel Thompson (I).

All three wards vote at the Bainbridge Community Building.


Cloverdale is sure to see turnover at the clerk-treasurer position, as incumbent Cathleen Monaco (R) fell in a town convention in August.

Vying to replace her are Cheryl Galloway (R) and Laurie Monnett (I).

The town council will see two members stay the same, as Don Sublett (R) is unopposed in Ward 2, and Dennis Padgett's Ward 3 position is not up until 2012.

Three people are seeking the two at-large council positions. Incumbent Larry Fidler (R) seeks office along with Cowetta Patton (R) and William Lyon (I).

In Ward 1, councilor Cathy Tipton (I) faces off against Gary Bennington (I).

Voting in all three wards is at Cloverdale High School.


Two of Fillmore's four elected positions could see turnover after Tuesday.

Alan Jones (I) of Ward 2 and Tami Parker (I) of Ward 3 are unopposed, ensuring their return.

In Ward 1, council president Wes Terhune (I) faces a challenge from former council member Curt Leonard (I).

The town's clerk-treasurer position has three candidates, with incumbent Wanda Seidler (I) along with Margaret Alexander (I) and Kari Bills (I) seeking office.

Fillmore residents vote at Town Hall.


In seven possible races, city incumbents see challenges for only two positions.

Mayor Sue Murray (D), along with council members Phyllis Rokicki (D, at-large), Adam Cohen (D, Ward 1), Mark Hammer (R, Ward 2) and T.J. Smith (R, Ward 4) all run unopposed.

Voters in Ward 3 will have a choice between incumbent Jinsie Bingham (D) and Republican Jade Griffin (R).

Citywide voters will choose between incumbent Teresa Glenn (D) and Lynda Dunbar (R).

Ward 1 North votes at the Putnam County Annex, and Ward 1 South reports to the Putnam County Courthouse. All of Ward 2 should go to the National Guard Armory.

Ward 3 West votes at Cornerstone Baptist Church, while Ward 3 East is at Greencastle High School. In Ward 4, the west precinct polling place is the Greencastle VFW, while the east is at Ridpath Primary School.


Roachdale faces perhaps the most interesting and wide-open election Tuesday, as four candidates seek the clerk-treasurer position, and seven vie for the three council seats.

Incumbent clerk Martha Louk (I) faces challenges from Brian Lathrop (I), Kristy Yack (I) and Kelly Marshall (I).

Current councilors at-large William Long (I), Jack Jones (I) and Barbara Scott (I) could all be unseated with challenges from Joe Cook (I), Jim Cromwell (I), Rick Kiefer (I) and Zach Bowers (I).

Roachdale's only polling place is the Roachdale Christian Church.


In Russellville Clerk-Treasurer Sally McAfee (I) is challenged by Devon Davis (I).

Five candidates seek three council seats with Jim Rodgers (I), Don Reddish (I), Norma Jean Gross (I), Betty Need (I) and Cathy Jones (I) all vying for the council.

Russellville voters should report to the Russellville Community Center.

Check out Wednesday's Banner Graphic or www.bannergraphic.com for results in all of Putnam County's 2011 municipal elections.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on bannergraphic.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

Some how I find it difficult to believe that our Clerks office did not allow any write in voting for the Clerks seat in Bainbridge, I do recall an artical in this paper explaining that she would look into the legal ramifications of not allowing write ins for an elected position. But as for the others we of Bainbridge can only hope that Town board changes hands. If not it will be another 4 years of nonesense at our expense.

-- Posted by Oh My Goodness on Tue, Nov 8, 2011, at 8:03 AM

OMG,why didn't you run? Beats whining....

-- Posted by kubotafan on Tue, Nov 8, 2011, at 4:25 PM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: