[Nameplate] Fair ~ 45°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 52°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Area 30 honors excellence in career and technical education

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Area 30 Career Center has inducted 47 students as new members in National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) and honored 19 returning inductees from last year.

Students who pledge to membership receive a membership card and certificate giving them access to the NTHS website for life and benefits such as scholarship opportunities. They also receive a graduation tassel, membership pin and decal. In addition, all seniors receive honor cords to be worn at graduation.

The following exceptional new students were inducted into NTHS this year on March 15:

-- Allied Health students Tyler Coffman, GHS; Brittany Doolin, SPHS; Savannah Fox, EHS; Dakota Jobes, EHS; Taylor Jones, CHS; Zak Kortesmaki, GHS; Alexis Rayl, CHS; Brooke Thompson, CHS; Jessie Bennett, GHS; Kara Birt, GHS; April Cain, GHS; Hannah Dixon, GHS; Cheyenne Fauvergue, GHS; Ali Mann, CHS, and Paige Pickens, GHS.

-- Automotive Services Technology students Blake Doolin, SPHS, and Trey Greene, EHS.

-- Culinary Arts students Mikayla Guyer, GHS; Charlotte Lane, CHS; Jacob Hutson, SPHS, and Matt York, GHS.

-- Computer Systems Networking students Christopher Worthington, CHS; Cody Atwood, CHS, and Matt Kelley, CHS.

-- Construction Equipment Operator student Elliott Harris, SPHS.

-- Early Childhood Education students Ali Hardman, GHS, and Abby Patterson, GHS.

-- Emergency Medical Technician student Mandy McFarlin, SPHS.

-- Nursing students Lindsay Albright, NPHS; Brianna Bryant, SPHS; Katie Burns, GHS; Jessi Covert, GHS; Taylor Downing, GHS; Victoria Evans, GHS; Ashtin Ford, GHS; Lynsey Herrick, NPHS, and Katie Morlan, SPHS.

-- ICE students Jade Asher, SPHS; Nathan Eubank, GHS; Shanette Goodpaster, SPHS; Radley Rector, SPHS, and Kali Shadwick, CHS.

-- Teacher Education students Brittany Birt, SPHS; Mallory Cash, SPHS; Paige Gruener, CHS, and Arial Immel, CHS.

-- Veterinary Technology Emily Urton, SPHS.

Members who were inducted into NTHS in 2011 were also recognized and honored for their achievements and received honor cords to be worn at graduation.

The 2011 inductees included CHS student Lindsey Bond, Allied Health; EHS student Macaulay Ward, Teacher Education; GHS students Crimson Brown, Nursing; Grant Earles, Computer Systems Networking; Katelynn Fulkerson, Nursing; Ethan Paxton, Computer Systems Networking; Kaitlin Pierce, Allied Health; Darian Ray, Nursing; Riley Seahorn, Allied Health and Hannah Wainman, Nursing; NPHS students Morgan Christy, Nursing; Chelsea Davis, Veterinary Technology; LeeAnn Davis, Nursing; Meghan Nordmeyer, Nursing, and Chelsea Phillips, Early Childhood Education/Web Design; and SPHS students Mackenzie Cash, Nursing; Cody Heller, Building Trades; Kylie Phillippe, Nursing, and Joshua Wilson, Automotive Services.

NTHS is the acknowledged leader in the recognition of students who excel in career and technical education. The students were identified by demonstrating outstanding scholastic achievement, skill development, leadership, honesty, responsibility and good character.

Giving back to the community also ranked as a high priority for qualification.

For more information about National Technical Honor Society, persons cab visit nths.org.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: