Shuman claims Thursday Night Sprint race, Cooper wins UMP Super Stock feature at LPS

Saturday, June 23, 2012
Driver Casey Shuman celebrates after winning the sprint race during the Thursday Night Sprints at Lincoln Park Speedway.

PUTNAMVILLE -- Round two of Thursday Night Sprints at Lincoln Park Speedway had a slim car count for the sprint car class, but that didn't dampen the spirits of car owner Mike McGhee as Casey Shuman put the No. 17 machine in victory lane ahead of Ethan Barrow and Brian Karracker.

Shuman piloted the Stoops Freightliner, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Mike McGhee and Associates Pool and Spa Service sponsored machine to third-place in the first heat race and started the A-main in fourth position. Karraker took the victory over Barrow and Scotty Weir edged out Lance Hayden to capture heat race number two.

Hayden and Abrams would take the green flag on the front row of the feature, but the start was delayed as Seth Parker and Josh Burton made contact in turn one, with Parker flipping over Saturday's feature winner.

Parker was uninjured in the melee, but his evening concluded as Burton was able to re-start after changing a flat tire.

On the re-start, Abrams took the initial lead over the first couple of circuits as Weir pulled off to bring out a caution. Abrams would maintain his advantage early, but he slipped over the cushion in turn four to open the door for Shuman, who wouldn't look back in the CPM Machine, Spike Chassis, DC Chassis Dyno No. 17.

Shuman quickly built upon his lead as Barrow took over the second spot, but couldn't make up any ground on the lightning quick pace of Shuman. Hayden and Karracker battled for the third spot over the second portion of the race as Jarrett Andretti advanced into the fifth spot ahead of Brandon Morin.

Up front, Shuman built nearly a full straightaway lead on his way to the checkered flag as Barrow came home in the runner-up spot over Karracker, Hayden and Andretti in the top-five.

The UMP Super Stocks joined the card Thursday night with 20 cars making the haul to Putnamville.

Brazil's Slick Griffin took the opening heat race over Kenny Carmichael Sr. and Kenny Carmichael Jr. Marty Cooper claimed the second heat, with Kris Starks and Troy Clark in tow.

Griffin and Cooper made up the front row of the feature ahead of Carmichael Sr. and Starks.

The A-main proved to be a battle of attrition. Cooper took the point on the opening green as Griffin slowed early on after running second. Carmichael held the third position over Clark and Roy Bruce. Carmichael Jr. and Doug McCullough were slightly behind the leaders before a caution came out with Clark pulling to the pits for a flat tire.

The UMP National points leader would get the tire changed and restart at the back of the pack and slowly work his way forward as Cooper held fast to his lead.

Carmichael Sr. would make a challenge along with Bruce as lapped cars began to play a factor. Cooper made a clean pass of a lapped car that hung up Carmichael briefly with three laps remaining.

As the leaders took the white flag headed to turn one, Carmichael and Steve Raney got bunched together in a spin along with Bruce, who was able to get free of the collection of cars.

With only half of the cars that started the feature still in action on the restart, Cooper took the green and eventually the checkered flag in the Superior System Supply, Baskin Robbins, Spec Racing Engines, GB Graphics, Dynamic Race Cars No. 00. Carmichael Jr. advanced into second position at the finish with Starks claiming third ahead of Clark and Josh McDaniel.

This evening will feature a regular card of sprint cars, UMP Modifieds, UMP Super Stocks and bombers. Tuesday night will see the UMP Dirt Car Summer Nationals "Hell Tour" for UMP Late Models and modifieds make a stop at Lincoln Park Speedway.

At Lincoln Park Speedway


Sprint car feature

1. Casey Shuman, 2. Ethan Barrow, 3. Brian Karracker, 4. Lance Hayden, 5. Jarrett Andretti, 6. Brandon Morin, 7. Garrett Abrams, 8. Josh Burton, 9. Scotty Weir, 10. Seth Parker, 11. Levi Shields

Heat one: 1. Karracker, 2. Barrow, 3. Shuman, 4. Morin, 5. Parker, 6. Abrams

Heat two: 1. Weir, 2. Hayden, 3. Burton, 4. Andretti, 5. Shields

UMP Super Stock feature

1. Marty Cooper, 2. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 3. Kris Starks, 4. Troy Clark, 5. Josh McDaniel, 6. Roy Bruce Jr., 7. Steve Raney, 8. Steve Ware, 9. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 10. Chad Nolte, 11. Chris Hillman, 12. Ron Smith, 13. Doug McCullough, 14. Travis Heramb, 15. JR Watkins, 16. Slick Griffin, 17. Mike Staggs, 18. Jamie Adams, 19. Bobby Gardner, 20. Dustin Shoulders

Heat one: 1. Griffin, 2. Carmichael Sr., 3. Carmichael Jr., 4. Raney, 5. Hillman, 6. Staggs, 7. McDaniel, 8. Watkins, 9. Smith, 10. Adams

Heat two: 1. Cooper, 2. Starks, 3. Clark, 4. Bruce Jr., 5. McCullough, 6. Heramb, 7. Shoulders, 8. Ware, 9. Gardner, 10. Nolte