David Bumgardner wins at Lincoln Park Speedway

Monday, July 23, 2012

PUTNAMVILLE -- Lincoln Park Speedway has been perhaps the most hectic dirt circuit in the state this week as Thursday's "Indiana Sprint Week" date with the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series was derailed by rain.

However, Saturday's slate of UMP Modifieds, UMP Super Stocks and bombers went off without a hitch as a stager for Sunday's rescheduled clincher for the biggest sprint car series of the season in the Hoosier State.

Paul Bumgardner unloaded his familiar No. 54 mod on Saturday evening in pursuit of his third consecutive victory at Lincoln Park Speedway. However, Devin Gilpin was on hand to chase yet another win in what has been an incredible 2012 season. With 27 feature victories already in hand, Gilpin took the green flag for the A-main on the outside of row two as Bumgardner had the pole alongside Jake Humphrey as both had captured their respective heat races.

Multiple cautions flawed the early stages of the main event, but Gilpin quickly proved he would be one of the toughest cars on site as he snagged the point from Bumgardner over the early circuits despite the cautions.

Once the early stoppages were sorted, Gilpin began to build his lead over the field. Bumgardner gave chase throughout the A-main, but on this evening, it was in vain.

Gilpin built himself a full straightaway lead over the field as the UMP National Points leader fought through late lapped traffic without a hitch. Bumgardner remained second as Broc Burton held down the third position with a caution slowing the field as the white flag came out.

With just two laps remaining, Gilpin was charged with maintaining his lead and that is exactly what he was able to do over the final circuits. He crossed the finish line for his 28th feature win of the season as Bumgardner held down the runner-up spot ahead of Burton, Eric Varner and Brian Yeatman. Tim Eddleman, Jeff Deckard, Carlos Bumgardner Sr., Andrew Auler and Richie Lex finished the top-10.

The UMP Super Stock feature was picked up by Kris Starks despite extensive challenges throughout by Terre Haute's Kenny Carmichael Sr.

Starks snagged the lead early and was able to maintain his lead through lapped traffic over the final laps as Troy Clark crossed the finish line in the third spot.

Starks has had little but bad luck for much the season, but on this evening, he locked down the top spot, while mastering the top line as Carmichael looked for any bobble. Starks found just the momentum he needed on the topside as the track began to slick off.

Carmichael remained close behind, but found no opening to make a decisive pass with Clark close behind. The trio remained in close contact throughout the feature, but despite his No. 26 ride running extremely hot over the final laps, Starks finished in first. Carmichael Sr., Clark, Tyler Cain and Slick Griffin made up the first-five with Dustin Shoulders, Doug McCullough, Mike Staggs, Jamey Wilson and AJ Clark rounding out the top-10.

In the bomber class, no one has been hotter than Greencastle's David Bumgardner.

Coming off a $1,000 payday during last week's Bomber Bash, Bumgardner scored his third feature win out of the last four contested races with Terre Haute's CJ Bryan the only driver breaking a month long string.

On Saturday evening, Bumgardner broke free of Mike Fisher Jr. over the opening laps as Josh Foxworthy and Fisher staged a door-to-door battle for the second spot. Behind them, Josh Settles and Tim Wright were battling for the fourth spot with CJ Bryan in striking distance.

Several early cautions slowed the pace of the feature, but over the second half of the race, Foxworthy began to reel Bumgardner in to set up a thrilling finish.

With five laps remaining, Bumgardner had his hands full with the charging Foxworthy, but wasn't about to relinquish another chance at victory. A final caution flew with just two laps left and gave the challengers one more shot at Bumgardner.

On the restart, Bumgardner got a good jump, but Foxworthy pulled nearly even as he worked above the cushion, but wasn't able to make the pass.

On the final lap, Foxworthy crossed up and went low on the leader in a final attempt, but Bumgardner was up to the task, maintaining his momentum on the top of turn four to cross the finish line up front.

Bryan made his way into the third position with Wright and Daniel Foxworthy in the top-five. Settles took the sixth spot followed by Fisher, Ron Smith, Tom Courtney and Kevin Kemp.

At Lincoln Park Speedway

UMP Modified feature

1. Devin Gilpin, 2. Paul Bumgardner, 3. Broc Burton, 4. Eric Varner, 5. Brian Yeatman, 6. Tim Eddleman, 7. Jeff Deckard, 8. Carlos Bumgardner, 9. Andrew Auler, 10. Richie Lex, 11. Tony Blair, 12. Jake Humphrey, 13. Charley Walden, 14. Casey Davis, 15. Gary Ricketts, 16. Blake Davis, 17. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 18. Brett Andrew, 19. Brent Hudson, 20. Michael Kettnich, 21. Kenny Carmichael Sr.

UMP Super Stock feature

1. Kris Starks, 2. Keny Carmichael Sr., 3. Troy Clark, 4. Tyler Cain, 5. Slick Griffin, 6. Dustin Shoulders, 7. Doug McCullough, 8. Mike Staggs, 9. Jamey Wilson, 10. AJ Clark, 11. JR Watkins, 12. Josh McDaniel, 13. Justin Davis, 14. Steve Ware, 15. Josh Fagg, 16. Jamie Adams, 17. Travis Heramb, 18. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 19. Robert Albright

Bomber feature

1. Davis Bumgardner, 2. Josh Foxworthy, 3. CJ Bryan, 4. Tim Wright, 5. Daniel Foxworthy, 6. Josh Settles, 7. Mike Fisher Jr., 8. Ron Smith, 9. Tom Courtney, 10. Kevin Kemp, 11. Josh Presley, 12. Megan Caveness, 13. David Wallen, 14. Jeff Beggs, 15. Chad Nolte, 16. Harry Shepherd, 17. Frank Cotton, 18. Mike Tuell, 19. Marlin Burns, 20. Kenny Treash