[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 68°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 49°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

St. Andrew's recital to feature guest organist Richard Konzen

Saturday, October 27, 2012

The people of St. Andrew's Episcopal Church will present guest organist Richard Konzen in the 10th anniversary celebration of the Arthur Carkeek memorial organ.

The concert is set for 5 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 4 at the church, 520 E. Seminary St.

Konzen's recital on the 23-rank Joseph Zamberlan pipe organ, installed in 2002 in honor of DePauw professor and St. Andrew's organist Arthur Carkeek, is a special moment in the history of the church since it is the return of Konzen, who was a former student of Carkeek, professor of organ at DePauw.

As a DePauw freshman, Konzen he sat as organist for the consecration of St. Andrew's Episcopal Church on Nov. 31, 1971. At that time, Allan Harlan was the rector and Arthur Carkeek was the guest choirmaster for the ceremony.

Konzen is currently professor of music and college organist at Grove City College in Grove City, Pa., where he has been on the faculty since 1992. He is also the organist-choirmaster at St. John's Episcopal Church in Youngstown, Ohio, known for its annual Boar's Head Festival.

At Grove City College, Konzen teaches organ, music theory, counterpoint, composition and was the college orchestra director for 19 years. He holds degrees from DePauw University and Yale University.

Active in a number of professional organizations, he served as the instrumental music reviewer for the Journal of the Association of Anglican Musicians for seven years and currently serves as the dean of the Youngstown Chapter of the American Guild of Organists.

Music for the one-hour concert will be "Praeludium in C: by Dietrich Buxtehude, "Ricercar Arioso" by Andrea Gabrieli, "Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan" by Johann Peter Kellner, "Wir glauben all an einen Gott" by Johann Ludwig Krebs, "Trio Sonata" by Hugo Distler, "Canon in Octave" by Samuel B. Whitney, "Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier "by J.S. Bach and "Fantasia and Fugue" in g minor by J. S. Bach.

The concert is free and a reception will follow.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: