South Putnam FFA place third in state Living to Serve Community Initiative

Sunday, June 28, 2015

The South Putnam FFA chapter was awarded third place in the Living to Serve Community Initiative and recognized for other accomplishments at in the 86th Indiana FFA State Convention recently.

The South Putnam chapter, led by sponsor Amanda King, had 22 students from grades seven to 12 participate in several contests and activities.

The Indiana FFA Association recognizes chapters who take the organization's motto, living to serve, seriously. The groups honored in the initiative make serving their communities a big part of the program.

In addition, the chapter was recognized as a silver chapter donor to the state.

Several of the students also fared well in groups and individual contests.

The Discovery Agriculture Issues Forum team placed first in the state, as well as the Agriscience Fair participants in the power, structure, and technical category. The Agriscience fair team consisted of Ryan Cole and Jesse Robinson, both freshmen, while the Agriculture issues team consisted of Delanie Maggart (grade 8), Trey Long (grade 8), Alex Faudree (grade 8), Andrew Carr (grade 8), Austin Arnold (grade 8), and Weston Havey (grade 7).

Megan Rogers, Adie Clifford, and Dylan Watson placed second in the Agriculture Communications contest.

Emily Dobson placed third in her Horticulture and Landscape Management Demonstration.

Jesse Robinson placed fourth in Freshman Creed Speaking.

Megan Arnold was elected as the District VII secretary and Megan Rogers was elected as the Section III director.

Allacyn Arnold was also selected to serve as a member of the nominating committee to select the 2015-16 State FFA Officer Team. She had the responsibility of interviewing candidates and coordinating with the other members of the committee to pur together a team that could lead our organization for the next year.

Other individuals and teams that competed at the state level include Garrett Heavin and Grace Carr in the Discovery Degree demonstration; Garrett Heavin, Audrey Neudeck, Helen Eaglin, and Mackenzie Clark in the Discovery Quiz Bowl contest; Zane Crosby and Collin Berry in the Natural Resource Management demonstration; Zane Crosby in the Leadership Ambassador interview; and Collin Berry in the Agriculture Sales prevention.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: