Haste chosen as IFCA All-Star

Sunday, March 26, 2017
North Putnam’s Max Haste (22) looks to go for yardage after the catch against Northview last fall.
Carey Fox photo for the Banner Graphic

Cougar TE among several picked for WVFCA game

The post-season honors keep rolling in for North Putnam senior tight end Max Haste.

The Marian-bound Cougar has already been honored as all-Putnam County, all-Western Indiana Conference, all-Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association, all-region and all-state after a monster senior season in which he caught 49 passes for 770 yards and three touchdowns.

His most recent honor came earlier this month when he was chosen as the only Putnam County representative in the Indiana Football Coaches Association North-South All-Star Game, which will be played July 14 at North Central High School in Indianapolis.

“Max is a very good tight end with good hands, good blocking skills and good speed,” said outgoing North Putnam coach Greg Barrett. “He has worked extremely hard to get recognized by his peers.”

A complete list of North Putnam players selected for this prestigious game was not available, but Barrett recalled that Adam Vondersaar (2008), Griffen Dahlstrom (2010), Travis Franklin (2011) and Nate Bryan (2012) all played in the game during his tenure at the school.

South Putnam’s Joe Masters, who will be teammates with Haste at Marian this fall, also participated in the event last summer.

Other Western Indiana Conference players chosen for the game are Trey Powell of Sullivan and Mason Moon of Northview, both of whom will be playing collegiately for Indiana State as preferred walk-ons.

Also chosen were linebacker Aaron Cravens of Monrovia, Avery Gentry and Tyler Meurer of Linton-Stockton and John Pasch of Indianapolis Lutheran (son of former North Putnam coach Dave Pasch).

Pasch, a 6-2, 250-pound lineman, is narrowing down his decision between DePauw, Wabash and Concordia (Ill.).

• Dozen locals to play in WVFCA game — Haste is among 12 Putnam County athletes chosen to play in the Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association All-Star Game on June 24 at Indiana State’s Memorial Stadium in Terre Haute.

Haste will be joined by fellow Cougars Jack Kendall and Solomon Gross on the Gold Division team, which also includes Noah Duby and Zeb Holder of Cloverdale.

Playing for the Black Division team are Kyle Shaffer and Johnathan Thibodeau of South Putnam and Greencastle’s Devin Clar, Spencer Rhine, Elijah Williams, Jackie Scanland and Nick Costin.

Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association All-Star Rosters


West Vigo — Clayton Noblitt RB, Joe Creasey DE, Tyler Kernstein WR, Logan McGrew DT

Red Hill — Tyler Tucker DB, Kameron Vinsel WR

Terre Haute North — Coner Dwyer OL, Thomas Dull LB, Nick Barrett QB, Rashawn Nicoson OL, Kody Moshak-OL/DL

Covington — Quentin Andrews WR, Gabe Newlin LB

Robinson — Ethan White, Jake Powell

Linton-Stockton — Tyler Meurer QB, Garrett Mason FB , Avery Gentry LB, Ian Fonceca LB. Bryer Pope C, Cayden Walker G, Kendall Williams OLB, Luke Wilson K

Paris — Michael Whitacre DL, Salem Isaf QB, Brady Sutton RB

South Putnam — Kyle Shaffer FB, Johnathan Thibedeau DB

Greencastle — Devin Clar RB, Spencer Rhine C, Elijah Williams OL, Jackie Scanland LB Nick Costin WR

Tri-County — TJ Bishop WR, Dalton Skiles RB, Daniel Henson DB

Marshall — Derrek Miller LB, Kyle Kendall OL, Spencer Shaffner TE/DE, Brock Finkbiner DB, Bayley Garrett G, Christian Hauter K

Owen Valley — Laramine Deford OL, Logan Trimble LB

Casey Westfield — Andrew Weiscope LB, Andrew Orrell WR

Mattoon — Reece Prior DB, Noah Patterson OLB, Michael Smith WR, Konour Smith DL, Nick Poorman RB/TE TJ Poehler OL

South Vermillion — Jared Moore DB, Ricky Kelley DB

Martinsville — Dakota Youngwolfe LB, Alex McDearmon QB/WR

COACHES: Brian Oliver, Linton (HC); Jake Gennicks, Linton; Mark Gennicks, Linton; Mike Meyer, Greencastle; Troy Johnson, Mattoon; Todd Evers, Marshall; Joe Lorig, Linton; Alex Bettag, THN


(Positions not available)

Cascade — Chase Edwards, Tanner Fox

Cloverdale — Noah Duby, Zeb Holder

Cumberland — Brody Donsbach, Keaton Titus, Mike Wolke

Eastern Greene — Isaac Hamilton, Jeff Graham

Newton — Brad Pethtel, Colton Angel, Joe Stone, Mitch Biermann, Nate Meinhart, Nick Cartwright, Tim Weber

North Central — Brayden Kutch, J.T. Baysinger

North Putnam — Jack Kendall, Max Haste, Solomon Gross

North Vermillion — Bryson Carson, Evan Weir, James Dunavan

Northview — Dylan Hyatt, Elliott Stalcup, Jacob Hendrich, Mason Moon, Thomas Hess, Tre Higginbotham

Oblong — Drew Reider, Hunter Goodwin

Olney — Dalton Mitchell, Dylan Klingler

Palestine-Hutsonville — Dawson Ferguson, Trent Alderson

Riverton Parke — PJ Persinger

Rockville — Conner Bettis, Kyle Goetz

Sullivan — Evan Conner, Patrick Badger, Tom Cox, Trevor Magill, Trey Powell, Zane Conner

Terre Haute South — Brandon Peck, Conner Owen, Connor Kerr, Deshawn Buford, Ethan Cox

Turkey Run — Brady Mitchell, Xylon Poynter

COACHES — Trent Olson, Sullivan (HC); Blaine Powell Sullivan; Greg Barrett, South Vermillion; Mark Raetz, Northview; Tim Herrin, Terre Haute South; Brian Crabtree, North Vermillion; Steve Sparks, Cascade; Jason Fulton, Newton

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: