FEATURED ATHLETE OF THE WEEK: Kiley Shedron, Cloverdale

Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Kiley Shedron mans third base during softball season last spring.
Banner Graphic/JOEY BENNETT

Kiley Shedron is a three-sport athlete at Cloverdale, competing in volleyball, basketball and softball.

Banner Graphic: How long have you played sports, and what have you learned from them?

Kiley Shedron: “I’ve played volleyball since fifth grade, basketball since eighth grade and softball my whole life. Softball is my best sport, and it’s my favorite. Sports are just something I like to do for fun. I have made a lot of friendships through sports, and I have learned how to get along with others and develop teamwork. Time management is also something that I have developed; I’m so busy all the time.”

BG: How hard is it to get all your school work done?

KS: “I get most of my things done at school. I have a free period, and I can normally get things done for my online class and homework in my other classes. I’m an office helper, and sometimes I can get things done that period also.”

BG: Talk about your three sports.

KS: “Softball last year was awesome. We had a really good record and it was a lot of fun. We won a lot of games. We lost some good seniors, but we have a lot of people back too. We will have a strong team again this year. Volleyball was really fun. The team was a lot of fun, and the girls are great to be around. We had a good year. I don’t play much in basketball, but it’s fun to be around all the girls and we’ve had a really good year so far. I like cheering for the team, and some of my best friends are on this team. It’s a good time.”

BG: What other things do you do at school?

KS: “I’m am ambassador, and I work school events and help people get where they need to go. I am in the National Technical Honor Society at Area 30.”

BG: What are you plans for after high school?

KS: “I’m going to college at Hanover to major in kiniesology and physiology, and I want to do something in the sports medicine. We have a great trainer here [Shawn Mattingly] and he has inspired me to want to go into sports medicine. You can talk to him about anything, and he’s really helpful. I am hoping to play softball there also. I’m going to a camp down there at the end of the month, and I’ve been talking to their coach a lot.”

BG: What kinds of things do you like to do when not at school?

KS: “I like to go to movies a lot. I went to see ‘Jumanji’ recently, and I really liked it. It’s funny. I like country music, mostly Thomas Rhett. I like “One Tree Hill’, but wish they wouldn’t have taken it off Netflix.”

BG: Do you get to travel much?

KS: “Every spring we take a family trip to Gatlinburg, Tenn. We rent a huge cabin and go go-karting. I’m a country girl.”

BG: What is something you’ve never done before that you’d like to do someday?

KS: “Skydiving. I’ve been ziplining, but I think skydiving would take it to the next level.”

BG: What are your favorite and least favorite foods?

KS: “I love Italian food, so pizza is probably my favorite. My least favorite is sushi. I just can’t do that.”

BG: What is your greatest fear?

KS: “Clowns. When I was little, my mom was afraid of them and wouldn’t let me be around them. It just sort of carried over to me. I went to see the movie ‘It’ and I was terrified because the main character is a clown.”

BG: If you were to describe your personality in one word, what would it be?

KS: “Outgoing. I love to talk to people.”

BG: What goals do you have for the rest of the school year?

KS: “I want to win a sectional in either basketball or softball, or both. I want to get all-county in softball and hopefully all-conference. “

BG: Do you have any pets?

KS: “No. I used to have a dog, but I’m not home very much now so my parents won’t let me.”

BG: When you’re out of college, do you want to live around here or go live somewhere far away?

KS: “I’ll probably come back around here somewhere. Probably not Cloverdale, but somewhere nearby.”

BG: Summarize your whole Cloverdale experience.

KS: “We won the conference my freshman year of softball in the WCC. Playing all the sports with all the people was awesome. Shawn Mattingly has definitely helped a lot, and Mrs. [Claire] Graham is great. You can always go talk to her whenever you need to. I like the small schools where you know everyone, and all the teachers are connected with you. That’s one of the reasons I chose Hanover, because it’s small and fits in my comfort zone.”

BG: Do you have any special skills?

KS: “I have tried juggling for about five years, but I just can’t get it.”

BG: Will you be coming back to Cloverdale much when you’re in college?

KS: “My sister [Kacey] has two years left, and I’ll come back to watch her play volleyball and softball when I can.”

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: