New candidate filings for general election announced

Thursday, July 6, 2006

With the November General Election still more than three months away, several new candidates have filed for Putnam County offices or have been appointed by their respective party.

Topping the list is the race for Putnam County prosecutor where Democrat James Ensley has filed with the state election office to run against current Prosecutor Tim Bookwalter.

Bookwalter, a Republican, ran unopposed in the May Primary and is seeking his first full term as prosecutor after he was selected by Republican caucus to fill the position vacated by former prosecutor Matthew Headley who is now judge of the Circuit Court.

Another high-ranking office that will be challenged this November is Putnam County recorder. Current Republican Recorder Jeanette Summitt ran unopposed in the Primary but will face challenger Carol Fagin this fall. A Democrat, Fagin is a resident of Cloverdale District III.

Other filings at the Clerk's Office since the May Primary include township advisory boards, township trustees and precinct committeemen.

According to clerk records, Democrat Daryl Branneman has been appointed by the party to serve as precinct committeeman in Cloverdale District I and Gene Clodfelter has been named for Russell Township. Their names will not appear on the ballot in November because they were appointed.

In the race for township trustees, new filings since May include Democrat Doris J. Miller, for Greencastle Township trustee, Larry Salsman, for Jefferson Township, Debbie Wagers Bartelt, for Russell Township, and Bill Birdsell for Warren Township

Miller will go up against current Greencastle Township Trustee Thelma Bumgardner (R).

In the various township advisory board races, recent filings since the May Primary include Republicans Jay Cunning-ham, John Crosby and Harry L. Kirby for Jefferson Township; Republican Gerald E. Ensor Sr. for Clinton Township; Repub-licans Sharon C. Evans and Lawrence W. Muncie for Warren Township; Demo-crats Reta M. Pearson, Charles T. Miles, Marilyn Lawrence, and Lenora and Don Bowlby for Greencastle Township; Stephen P. Blaydes Sr. for Washington Township; Democrat Rex Parker for Warren Township; and Democrat Rebecca "Beckie" J. Yeagley for Clinton Township.

Election officials also announced this week that anyone interested in running for town council races on the democrat or republican ticket have from now until Aug. 1 at noon to file. The deadline for independents to file has passed.

The only open town council race this year is Cloverdale Ward III.

In school board races, candidates should note that the filing period begins July 26 and continues until noon on Aug. 25.

Open school board races include South Putnam Schools (one seat from Jefferson Township and one seat from Warren Township), North Putnam Schools (one from Clinton Township, one Floyd Township and one Jackson Township), and Cloverdale Schools (one Jennings Township, one Taylor Township, and one Cloverdale Township).

This year the General Election occurs on Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: