'Share the Dream' under way May 1

Monday, March 31, 2008
The 2007 Share the Dream Winner was the GHS Alumni Association Scholarship Endowment. It received a check for $2,000 for their endowment. Pictured are (from left) Elaine Peck, Putnam County Community Foundation, David Boswell, GHS Alumni Association, and Ginger Scott, 2007 Share the Dream Co-Chair. Not pictured is the 2007 Share the Dream Co-Chair, Lynn Bohmer.

Each year, the Community Foundation's Share the Dream Program gives charitable organizations and individuals a tool to help them promote and raise money for the causes they hold dear.

Due to a generous donation from an anonymous donor, participating organizations and individuals have an opportunity to earn up to $2,000 for their endowments.

Three awards will be offered in 2008: $1,000 for the endowment that raises the most money during the Share the Dream Program; $500 for the endowment receiving the most contributions via the Community Foundation's website at www.pcfoundation.org; and $500 for the endowment that has the most first time donors.

In 2007, the Greencastle High School Alumni Association Scholarship Endowment earned the distinction of winning both awards offered last year, totaling $2,000.

The Association's endowment received a total of $7,130 in contributions from 77 different individuals. The year 2007 was the fourth consecutive year, the Association won the Share the Dream contest. David Boswell, chair of the GHS Alumni Scholarship Committee, and Elaine Peck, Executive Director of the Community Foundation, credit John and Carolyn Carson for the Association's success.

The 2006 Winners: GHS Alumni Scholarship Endowment, the Rokicki Foundation Fund, and the Joyce Braden Preschool/Camping Endowment for Greencastle Baptist Church.

The 2005 Winners: Sycamore Trails R.C. & D Council Endowment, GHS Alumni Scholarship Endowment, and Evans Family Culver Academy Scholarship Endowment.

The 2004 Winners: GHS Alumni Scholarship Endowment, the Rokicki Foundation Fund, and Evans Family Culver Academy Scholarship Fund

The 2003 Winners: Reading Improvement Center Endowment, St. Paul the Apostle Ladies Guild Scholarship Endowment, and the Belle Union Scholarship Endowment.

Share the Dream begins May 1 and lasts until Aug. 31.

Endowment funds wishing to participate in the Program should register by sending an email to nshoemaker@pcfoundation.org. For additional information or to have a representative from the Community Foundation speak at a local group, contact the Community Foundation office at 866-653-4978.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: