DPU places 17th in Director's Cup standings

Saturday, June 14, 2008

Paced by seven teams with top 10 NCAA finishes, the DePauw athletics program finished the 2007-08 year ranked 17th in the U.S. Sports Academy's Directors' Cup standings.

The Directors' Cup is a program which began in Division III in 1995-96 and honors institutions maintaining a broad-based program and achieving success in both men's and women's sports.

DePauw totaled 570 points for its fourth-best finish in the 13-year history of the program after finishing 15th last year. Williams College (Mass.) won its 12th Directors' Cup in the last 13 years after finishing with 1120.25 points.

The Tigers' 15th-place showing also marked the 13th time in as many years that DePauw ranked ahead of all other Indiana Division III institutions and the fourth time they finished in the top 20.

DePauw's women's golf team, a top-four finisher in Division III each of the last seven years, matched its best finish in school history when it placed second for the second straight year.

The Tigers' women's basketball team made its third straight NCAA quarterfinal appearance before bowing out of the tournament and finishing in a tie for fifth, while the women's cross country team put together its best finish ever when it placed seventh at the national championshps.

DePauw's softball team, ranked number one in the country throughout the final three weeks of the regular season, advanced to the finals of the first round before losing to eventual national runner-up Wisconsin-Whitewater and finishing in a tie for ninth.

The women's swimming and diving squad placed ninth at the national meet for its second-best finish ever, while the men's and women's tennis teams each tied for ninth in Division III Championship play and the men's swimming and diving team was 11th.

Individuals also represented the Tigers at the Men's Cross Country and Women's Track and Field Championships.

DePauw teams finished the year with a 240-81-1 record for a .747 winning percentage as the Tigers captured their third consecutive Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference President's Trophy.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: