Pauley to be inducted at DePauw

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Former NBC "Today" host Jane Pauley and Fort Wayne Journal Gazette Editor Craig Klugman are among five people who will be inducted into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame on April 18 at the Walden Inn.

Pauley holds an honorary degree from DePauw University. She received it in 1978 and was the youngest person to receive such an honor from the school.

The other three 2009 inductees are James Brown, executive associate dean of the Indiana University School of Journalism at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis where he has been since 1982; Ernest Wilkinson, longtime editor and reporter at The Indianapolis Star and Janet Flanner, who was a prominent writer for The New Yorker magazine.

Pauley is an Indianapolis native and Indiana University graduate who began her career in 1972 as a reporter and anchor at Indianapolis television station WISH. She was hired to be a co-host of "Today" in 1976. She was there for 13 years before later joining the cast of "Dateline NBC" for 12 years. She left the network in 2003.

Klugman has been the editor of The Journal Gazette since 1982. He has led many Freedom of Information efforts, including a statewide public records audit that helped lead to the creation of the Indiana public access counselor's office.

Brown has been at IUPUI since 1982 and was a pioneer in computer-assisted journalism. He organized numerous conferences introducing many journalists to the use of databases for reporting purposes.

Wilkinson joined The Indianapolis Star in 1956. He spent 20 years as the state editor and was a farm writer for over a decade before retiring in 1991. He worked at newspapers in his hometown of Terre Haute, then in Rochester and Brazil before joining The Star. He resides in Lafayette.

Flanner was the Paris correspondent of The New Yorker magazine from 1925 to 1975. Her stories included such famous names as Pablo Picasso, Charles Lindberg and Adolf Hitler. The writing style in her "Letter from Paris" feature became a signature of the magazine. She died in 1978.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame, created in 1966 by the Indiana professional chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) has been located since 1976 at East College on the DePauw campus, where the national society of Sigma Delta Chi was founded in 1909.

The Hall recognizes those with significant Indiana ties who have demonstrated they are journalists of the highest distinction.

This spring will be the 100th anniversary of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: