Fillmore wins 4th straight Spell Bowl

Saturday, November 27, 2010
The Fillmore Elementary Team won first place for the fourth year in a row in the Class 2 division at the annual Putnam County Spell Bowl competition, which was held at Central Elementary on Nov. 18.

GREENCASTLE -- The Annual Spell Bowl competition for Putnam County was held on Nov. 18 at Central Elementary. The results were:

* Fillmore Elementary, first place, Class 2, 44 points. Team members were Deanna Bishop, Alyssa Bright, Allison Bunton, Evan Burton, Olivia Burton, Emma Cash, Fabi Garcia, Julie Garcia, Grace Harris, Hanna Heagy, Maddie McHugh, Cheyenne Shoemaker, and Meredith Trump. Coaches: Barb Bennett and Wendy Danner.

* South Putnam Central Elementary, third place, Class 2, 40 points. Team members were Andrew Carr, Blake Clearwaters, Jarrett Curran, Tyler Hicks, Eric Hinkle, Addison Hughes, Alex Fanning, Savannah McIntosh, Justin Pitts, Shan Shafer, Kristi Wood, and Christian Zeffel. Coaches: JoAnne Carter, Shannon Lutes

* Tzouanakis Intermediate School, second place, Class 3, 48 points. Team members were Julian Anderson, Parker Black, Corinne Buchanan, Jonathon Cox, Ben Gellman, Lucas Gillen, Amy Gong, Jaelen Hounsell, Susanna Howard, Jaxon Parmley, Jack Romer, Alyssa Stockall, Destiny Stouder, and Leo Weeks. Coaches were Gina Ames and Wendy Haltom.

* Roachdale Elementary, first place, Class 4, 32 points. Team members were Lilly Brown, Emily Fink, Jacinda Garver, Nicholas Goode, Jarrek Montgomery, Lexi Snedeker, Abby Spencer, Connor Payton, and Ashlyn Yeley. Coach: was Julie Black.

Other county schools participating:

* Reelsville, Class 2, 20 points. Team members were Danton Glover, Tiffany Kendall, Kristina Eaglin, Andrew Ballard, Kody Britton, Justin Oldham, Alyssa Ball, Dylan Crum, Wes Lanko, Lauren Latham, and Mariah Fikes. Coach was Angie Nichols.

* Bainbridge, Class 3, 25 points. Team members were Tirah Freije, Alexis Benge, Emma Grimes, Kinzey Young, James Duncan, Xavier Pagan, Zachary Koll, Kayla Pace, Kayla Bray, Nathaniel Burks, and Zoe Haggmasi. Coach was Patricia Schrieber.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: