Commissioners redraw council districts

Thursday, November 10, 2011

For the first time in several decades, voters in the Putnam County's 2012 elections may find themselves in different County Council districts.

After several months of discussion, and a recommendation from their appointed redistricting committee, the Putnam County Commissioners adopted new districts for the county's four district councilors at Monday's meeting.

The goal of the redrawn districts is to divide the county as equally as possible according to population while keeping divisions of precincts and townships to a minimum.

The new districts accomplish this, with the largest deviation being from between 8,947 and 9,906 in the smallest and largest districts.

Greencastle Township will be the only divided township, as its population makes it impossible to leave intact and also keep the districts balanced.

The northern district will include the entirety of Russell, Franklin, Jackson, Monroe and Floyd townships.

The western district is all of Clinton, Madison and Washington townships, as well as five Greencastle Township precincts -- Limedale, First Ward North, First Ward South, Fourth Ward West and Second Ward West.

The southern district will be composed of Warren, Jefferson and Cloverdale townships, along with Foxridge precinct in Greencastle Township.

The final district is composed of Marion Township and the remainder of Greencastle Township -- Greencastle North, Second Ward East, Third Ward East and West and Fouth Ward East.

This eastern district is the one potentially most problematic to current councilmen, as it would pit Darrel Thomas and Roger Deck against one another for the seat. However, Deck has said he will not seek a third term in office, averting a potential conundrum for the Republican Party.

Keith Berry and Dave Fuhrman would be safe for re-election in their districts, as Berry is alone in the southern district and Fuhrman is alone in the northern district.

The new western district does not currently have a representative on the council.

Councilmen Larry Parker, Jay Fogle and Phil Gick are elected to at-large seats and are therefore unaffected by the changes.

The districts changes will take affect as the seats come back for election in 2012 and 2014.

View 2 comments
Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. Please note that those who post comments on this website may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
  • 3 commissioners for Greencastle? Lovely =[

    -- Posted by mickhamblen on Thu, Nov 10, 2011, at 1:55 PM
  • Sorry that should read 3 Councilmen for Greencastle? Lovely=[

    -- Posted by mickhamblen on Thu, Nov 10, 2011, at 2:00 PM
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: