Cloverdale, Russellville receive $600,000 Focus Fund grants

Saturday, February 11, 2012
Participating in a ceremony Friday at the Indiana Statehouse as the Town of Cloverdale receives a Community Focus Fund grant for $600,000 are (from left) WCIEDD grant administrator Kristy Jerrell, Cloverdale Council member Coweta Patton, Past Town Council President Cathy Tipton, Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman, Councilman Dennis Padgett, Town Council President Don Sublett and Councilman Gary Bennington.

INDIANAPOLIS -- At a Statehouse ceremony on Friday, Indiana Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman awarded $600,000 Community Focus Fund grants to a pair of Putnam County towns.

The Town of Cloverdale has been awarded $600,000 to fund a wastewater system improvement project, while the Town of Russellville has received $600,000 to fund its water system improvement project.

The Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs (OCRA) administers the grants, which are funded through the federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program.

Overall, 17 communities were recognized at the ceremony, with grant awards totaling more than $8 million being awarded.

The Community Focus Fund grants are awarded annually through a competitive application process. Eligible projects include, but are not limited to: Community and senior centers, special needs facilities, libraries, water system improvements, storm drainage projects, and sewer system improvements.

"The CFF program funds improvements that are necessary for cities, towns, and counties to succeed economically," Lt. Gov. Skillman said. "Community infrastructure and quality of life projects help build stronger Hoosier communities."

The Cloverdale project will address the severe deterioration and ongoing operational problems of the Doe Creek lift station, which began more than 10 years ago.

The project will provide a complete replacement of that lift station along with force main and wastewater line improvements.

Attending the ceremony on behalf of Cloverdale were Town Council President Don Sublett, Past Town Council President Cathy Tipton and Council members Gary Bennington and Coweta Patton, along with WCIEDD grant administrator Kristy Jerrell.

Taking part in a Statehouse ceremony Friday as the Town of Russellville receives a Community Focus Fund grant for $600,000 are (from left) grant administrator Terry Jones, Russellville Clerk-Treasurer DeVon Davis, Indiana Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman and Town Council President Don Reddish.

Meanwhile, Russellville's proposed system improvements include line replacement and extension, chlorine injection upgrades, and the installation of new hydrants.

New meters and valves throughout the system will help with the financial viability of the Russellville system. The updates will improve both water quality and water utility financial viability issues.

Representing the Town of Russellville at the ceremony Friday were Town Council President Don Reddis, Clerk-Treasurer DeVon Davis and grant administrator Terry Jones.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: