Who's News

Saturday, June 14, 2014

LAURA WEATHERFORD of Greencastle was among the 824 Butler University students who completed degree requirements in May 2014.

Weatherford is a 2008 graduate of Greencastle High School.

Challenging and enabling students to meet their personal and professional goals has guided Butler University since 1855d

BRAYDEN MANN of Cloverdale is a new junior member of the American Angus Association.

Junior members of the Association are eligible to register cattle in the American Angus Association, participate in programs conducted by the National Junior Angus Association and take part in Association-sponsored shows and other national and regional events.

The American Angus Association is the largest beef breed association in the world, with nearly 24,000 active adult and junior members.

The Experimental Aircraft Association recently announced that DAKOTA JACKSON of Greencastle has been accepted to attend the EAA Basic Air Academy 2014 in Oshkosh, Wis.

The EAA Air Academy offers young people the opportunity to meet and work with aviation professionals while living and learning the arts, sciences and lore of aviation in both classroom and workshop settings.

Jackson joins many other young people ages 14 and 15 in this program. Participants in the EAA Air Academy come from around the United States and several foreign countries.

Academy activities will include flight experience, workshops and classroom study.

Those who are interested in attending any of EAA's Air Academy programs should write to: Experimental Aircraft Association, Inc., Resident Education Office, PO Box 3086, Oshkosh, WI 54903-3086. Applicants need not be EAA members. The prime consideration is an interest and enthusiasm for aviation.

Indiana State University has announced its dean's list for the 2014 spring semester.

Students from Putnam County recognized for academic achievement include Nicole Cacciola, MiKayla Cherry, Wendy Cox, Cassidy Crawford, Thomas Downing, Moriah Huber, Kyle Johnson, Maggie Lubinski, Dakota Miller, Brooklyn Sage and Aisa Terry, all of Greencastle; Kevin Dean, Alex Eickhoff, Taylor Gruener, Ashley Koosman, Kayla Langdon, Michael May, Mariah Oetken, Caitlin Russell, Katherine Williams and Jalal Zreba-Dover, all of Cloverdale; Seth Arnold, Caitlyn Boyce and Jenna Greeson, all of Fillmore; Drew Harris and Courtney Smith, both of Roachdale; and Matthew Janeway and Keeley Williams, both of Reelsville.

To be eligible for the dean's list at Indiana State, students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Two local students earned a position on the University of Evansville dean's list for the spring semester of 2014.

MELISSA BALL and SARAH DORY, both of Greencastle, were honored for their academic achievements.

University of Evansville is a private, liberal arts-based university in Evansville, Indiana, with a full-time undergraduate enrollment of approximately 2,300.

LAURA ENGLISH, the daughter of John English of Brownsburg and Mary Dixon of Venice, Fla., is named to the dean's list for the spring semester of the 2013-14 school year. To be named to the dean's list, a student must have a minimum 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Hope College is four-year, co-educational, liberal arts college and is affiliated with the Reformed Church in America.

REBECCA NICOLE BURTON, DREW CASH and RACHEL ANN EGOLD graduated from Anderson University on Saturday, May 10.

Approximately 400 undergraduate and graduate students received degrees during the graduation ceremony.

A number of Putnam County residents were named to the Dean's List for the spring semester at Ivy Tech Community College--Wabash Valley. The College names to the Dean's List any degree-seeking student who has accumulated 12 or more earned credit hours, and who, in the term involved, is enrolled in a minimum of six credit hours and earns a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Local students named to the Spring 2014 dean's list include Altera Harris and Lori Wittig of Bainbridge; Tara Cummings, Diane Davis, Amanda Galloway, Joseph Galloway, Danielle Grounds, Abigayle Kenworthy, Amanda Long, Christina Roach, Kurt Sanders, Stacia Shepherd, Dakota Sinks and Christian Sparks of Cloverdale; Landon Cox, Josh Fuehrer, Lisa Gibson, Shawn Jackson, Trista Judd, Dawn Kinnett, Ashlie Lamb, Tina Mitchell, David Osborne and Tracey Schmutte of Coatesville; Paul Alleyn, Stephanie Cullen, Kimberly Long and Brooke Taylor of Fillmore; Donald Bannon, Crimson Brown, Emily Chambon, Debra Chrysler, Michael Coan, Ashley Douglas, Kimberly Freeman, Andrew Harmless, Natasha Herbst, Katherine Horn, Kay Jackson, James Kavanaugh, Rebekah Kelly, Jennifer McGaughey, Zachary Miller, Hope Noble, Adam Peck, Nathan Peck, Hannah Pettit, Lynna Sweet, Amber Webb, Schantell Wharton, Timothy Wilcox and Tabitha Wilson of Greencastle; Danielle Myers of Quincy; Sarah Capps, Marsha Costin, Robin DiRocco, Kami Flora, Shelby Gossage, Pamela Hutson and Kati Wallace of Reelsville; and Melissa Hendricks and Joyce Richie of Roachdale.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: