Page Cotton, student-athletes to enter Hall of Fame

Monday, September 1, 2014
Page Cotton, former Athletic Director and soccer coach at DePauw University will be incucted into the Hall-of-Fame along with former athletes. (Courtesy Photo)

Longtime Director of Athletics Page Cotton and five former student-athletes will comprise the 28th DePauw Athletics Hall of Fame class. The public is welcome to attend the Sept. 6, 10 a.m. induction ceremony in Moore Theatre of the Judson and Joyce Green Center for the Performing Arts.

The 2014 class includes J.R. Foster '02 (men's soccer, men's track and field), Kelly Morrison Jones '99 (women's basketball), Janie Hodgkinson Priola '02 (volleyball), Fred Roberts '62 (baseball, men's basketball), Adrienne Gough Watts '02 (women's cross country, women's track and field) and Page Cotton '71 MAT (men's soccer head coach).

Cotton served 39 seasons as the men's soccer coach with a 390-190-33 record and led the Tigers to 12 conference titles and eight NCAA postseason appearances. He was DePauw's director of intercollegiate athletics and recreational sports for more than 15 years, during which the Tigers won 95 conference team titles.

Foster was a two-sport standout for the Tigers in men's soccer and men's track and field and still holds school records in both sports. A three-time all-region soccer player, Foster holds down DePauw career marks of 48 goals, 27 assists and 123 total points. On the track he remains the record holder in two individual events and two relays.

A women's basketball all-America selection and finalist for Division III player of the year, Jones played on the first three DePauw teams that competed in the NCAA postseason. She still ranks third in DePauw career scoring and holds the DePauw career three-point percentage record which is eighth-best in Division III history.

Priola remains DePauw's lone volleyball all-America selection and still holds four career school records. Her name still appears in the NCAA records books among the Division III leaders in three career categories and one single-season.

Recognized at the time as an outstanding defensive catcher, Roberts earned letters in both baseball and men's basketball.

He helped lead the Tigers to NCAA baseball postseason appearances in 1960 and 1961 while earning all-conference honors in his junior and senior seasons.

A three-time qualifier for the NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships, Watts earned all-conference honors in cross country all four seasons and posted six all-conference performances in track and field.

She also earned the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

In addition to the induction ceremony, the honorees will be recognized at halftime of the season-opening football game against Sewanee which kicks off at 1 p.m.

The DePauw Athletic Hall of Fame was created in 1986 and has inducted 190 individuals and three teams starting with the charter class of 25 individuals.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: