Shuman wins sixth modified feature at Lincoln Park

Sunday, September 14, 2014

PUTNAMVILLE -- An entire summer of racing action came down to one final cool evening at Lincoln Park Speedway as the final points race of the night was slated to decide each of four classes' champion.

The sprint car class was the tightest with a pair of Arizona natives heading the field.

Casey Shuman held a fragile three-point lead on Chad Boespflug coming into the night and he was able to parlay a third-place feature finish, one spot ahead of Boespflug, into a championship for the Krockenberger Racing Team based in Terre Haute.

A.J. Hopkins continued a late summer charge by picking up the Saturday sprint car victory, getting past Brent Beauchamp with just five laps remaining to claim the win.

A week after Hopkins lost a tough battle with a lap remaining with Chase Stockon, he was able to turn the tables on the competition.

Beauchamp got past Chris Phillips early in the 25-lap A-main, but Hopkins had a good run going on the top side at Lincoln Park. He continued to chip away at Beauchamp's lead with Kris Deckard, Boespflug, Kent Christian and Shuman running up front.

With 15 laps down, Shuman got past Boespflug for the third position and Hopkins was side-by-side with Beauchamp.

Hopkins made his move on lap 20, taking the lead with a strong run through turns one and two to take the point. From there, he pulled away to a convincing win as Beauchamp took second. Shuman held down third to clinch the points title as Boespflug took fourth and Phillips ran a strong fifth.

Randy Shuman got by Dan Lewellen at the five lap mark and then held off a furious challenge from Jake Humphrey to pick up the UMP Modified feature win. It was Shuman's sixth feature victory of the season at LPS.

Once Shuman took over the point, he had clear air in front of him as the laps ticked off. However, there were several caution flags that stood in the way of the victory.

The final one came with just one lap remaining as Humphrey had charged ninth into the second spot. As he kept the hammer down and worked the top line of the track, Humphrey pulled nearly even with Shuman several times over the last five circuits, but Shuman remained out front to pick up the victory.

Lewellen battled to a third-place finish with Derek Groomer finishing fourth ahead of Wes McClara.

Kenny Carmichael Sr. won the points title by 58 points over his son Kenny Carmichael Jr.

Steve Peeden waged a battle up front with Josh Boller in the UMP Super Stock feature before a late mechanical problem sidelined Boller. Once Boller pulled to the pits, Peeden wouldn't be challenged over the final seven circuits. Kenny Carmichael Sr. came home with third behind Ralph Groomer as Jake Leitzman was fourth ahead of Scott Carrington.

Peeden's win was his third of the season at Lincoln Park.

Doug McCullough recorded the points title over Carmichael Sr. by 92 points.

The final two features of the evening went to drivers familiar with victory lane as C.J. Bryan piloted the No. 86 bomber to the win ahead of David Wallen and Tim Wright captured the final race with a win over Tyler Neal.

Bryan got to the lead early in the first bomber feature and stayed there as Wallen tried everything to make up the last little bit of ground that he could. However, Bryan ran flawlessly over the final laps to hold off the Brazil native. Kyle Krupa crossed the finish line in the third spot ahead of Josh Settles, who raced forward from a 15th-place starting position. Bob Farris placed fifth.

In the final race of the evening, Wright and Neal waged a battle for the top spot, racing door-to-door for much of the second portion of the feature. The pair were side-by-side on the final lap, but Wright was able to lock up the win as A.J. Smith came home third ahead of Kevin Kemp and Ron Smith.

Cloverdale's Carlos Bumgardner Sr. won the points title by 33 points over Wright.

Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint car feature

1. AJ Hopkins, 2. Brent Beauchamp, 3. Casey Shuman, 4. Chad Boespflug, 5. Chris Phillips, 6. Kris Deckard, 7. Kent Christian, 8. Jamie Frederickson, 9. AJ Francis, 10. Chris Babcock, 11. Cole Smith, 12. Garrett Miller, 13. Matt McDonald, 14. Chris Ohl, 15. Eric Burns, 16. Ethan Barrow, 17. Conner Donelson, 18. Troy Link, 19. Tyler Waltz, 20. Andrew Prather

UMP Modified feature

1. Randy Shuman, 2. Jake Humphrey, 3. Dan Lewellen, 4. Derek Groomer, 5. Wes McClara, 6. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 7. Gary Ricketts, 8. Josh McDaniel, 9. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 10. Casey Davis, 11. Gary Hayden, 12. Tony Houck, 13. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 14. Scott Ricketts, 15. Wayne Newlin, 16. Doug Bryant Jr., 17. Damon Harrell, 18. Brent Hudson, 19. Geoff Buxton

UMP Super Stock feature

1. Steve Peeden, 2. Ralph Groomer, 3. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 4. Jake Leitzman, 5. Scott Carrington, 6. Doug McCullough, 7. JR Watkins, 8. Travis Heramb, 9. David Bumgardner, 10. Jonathon Newgent, 11. Mark Smith, 12. Chris Campbell, 13. Kenny Fields, 14. Larry Babbs, 15. Josh Boller, 16. Josh McDaniel, 17. Kris Starks, 18. Josh Fagg, 19. Matt Jordan

Bomber feature 1

1. C.J. Bryan, 2. David Wallen, 3. Kyle Krupa, 4. Josh Settles, 5. Bob Farris, 6. RJ Pruitt, 7. Cody Wright, 8. Tom Courtney, 9. Christian Kline, 10. Jack Campbell, 11. Lenny Krupa III, 12. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 13. Jordan Almanza, 14. Scott Graham, 15. Josh Litton, 16. David Kikendall Jr., 17. Eric Miller, 18. Ray Funkhouser Jr.

Bomber feature 2

1. Tim Wright, 2. Tyler Neal, 3. A.J. Smith, 4. Kevin Kemp, 5. Ron Smith, 6. Baily Hicks, 7. Jeff Beggs, 8. Mark Dickerson, 9. Chucky Walden, 10. Jerry Hutto, 11. Cory Williamson, 12. Michael Williams, 13. Michael Thompson, 14. Bobby Tarrh, 15. Adam Perkins, 16. James Walters, 17. Justin Massie

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: