Candidate filing period closing with flurry of action

Monday, June 29, 2015

With only a day left until the filing deadline for 2015 municipal elections, candidates are keeping the Putnam County Voter Registration Office hopping.

Between noon on Friday and noon on Monday, six new candidates filed paperwork to seek office in four different Putnam County towns.

Roachdale remains the hotbed of candidate filings, with two more candidates adding their names to the race for town council, bringing the total to six people seeking three at-large positions.

Incumbent councilman Zach Bowers (I) and newcomer Kevin Cook (I) have added their names to those of fellow independents Holly Cook, Jim Cromwell, Rick Kiefer and Rick Miles Jr.

Russellville has filled two vacant spots on its ballot, with incumbent Devon Davis (I) seeking re-election as clerk-treasurer, as well as Jim Russell Davis (I) joining the race for three at-large town council positions alongside Debbie Bartelt (I) and incumbent Cathy Jones (I).

Jim Watson (I) will run for Bainbridge Town Council Ward 2 against Jerry L. Lents (I) in what is, so far, the only contested council race in Bainbridge.

One of two vacancies in Fillmore was filled, with Tom Gilson (I) now running for the Town Council Ward 2 position. The move leaves only the clerk-treasurer position in Fillmore unfilled. If no one files, current Clerk-Treasurer Paul Alleyn will continue in the position.

In fact, the Fillmore position is one of only two vacancies remaining on the ballot anywhere in the county. The other, a third Democrat candidate in the race for Greencastle City Council at-large, has been open since before the May primary. Just like independent candidates, the Democrat Party has until noon on Tuesday to nominate a candidate for the Tuesday, Nov. 3 election.

Even with some of the late-breaking filings, the towns of Cloverdale, Fillmore and Russellville have no contested races. If this remains the case, no 2015 election will be contested in these towns.

With more filings likely before the deadline, a complete rundown of 2015 candidates will be published online on Tuesday as well as in the Wednesday print edition of the Banner Graphic.

2015 Municipal Elections
(Filings as of noon on June 29)

Mayor: Haywood Ware (R), William A. Dory Jr. (D)
Clerk-Treasurer: Lynda R. Dunbar* (R), Eric Wolfe (D)
City Counil At-Large (Vote for 3): Mark N. Hammer (R), Clyde Wallace "Wally" Hinkle (R), Harry Maginity (R), Gary D. Lemon (D), Dave Murray (D)
City Council Ward 1: Danny Mesecher (R), Adam Cohen* (D)
City Council Ward 2: Stacie Langdon (R), Brian Cox (D)
City Council Ward 3: Harold Barger (R), Steve Fields (D)
City Council Ward 4: Tyler J. Wade* (R), Tanis Monday (D)

Clerk-Treasurer: Bobbi Boller (I), Monica Bray (I), Pamela S. Kashman (I)
Council Ward 1: Chuck McElwee* (I)
Council Ward 2: Jerry L. Lents (I), Jim Watson (I)
Council Ward 3: Joel Thompson* (I)

Clerk-Treasurer: Cheryl Galloway* (R)
Council At-Large: Gary E. Bennington (I)
Council Ward 1: Larry Fidler (I)
Council Ward 2: Donald Sublett* (I)

Clerk-Treasurer: No candidates filed
Council Ward 1: Curt Leonard* (I)
Council Ward 2: Tom Gilson (I)
Council Ward 3: Robin Duncan (I)

Clerk-Treasurer: Katrina "Kathy" Asher (I), Martha Louk* (I), Debbie Sillery (I)
Town Council At-Large (vote for 3): Zach Bowers* (I), Holly M. Cook (I), Kevin Cook (I), Jim Cromwell (I), Rick Kiefer (I), Rick Miles Jr. (I)

Clerk-Treasurer: D. Devon Davis* (I)
Town Council At-Large (vote for 3): Debbie Bartelt (I), Jim Russell Davis (I), Cathy Jones* (I)