'Jane Austen Book Club' author Fowler at DPU

Sunday, October 25, 2015
Karen Joy Fowler

Karen Joy Fowler -- an author of science fiction, fantasy and literary fiction whose best-selling novel "The Jane Austen Book Club" was made into a movie of the same name -- is coming to DePauw


On Wednesday, Oct. 28, Fowler will appear as a guest of the DePauw James and Marilou Kelly Writers Series.

The free program will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the auditorium of the Richard E. Peeler Art Center and is open to all.

The author of seven novels and four short story collections, Fowler's most recent novel, "We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves," was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and won the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

"Sister Noon" was a finalist for the 2001 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction. Her debut novel, "Sarah Canary," was a New York Times Notable Book, as was her second novel, "The Sweetheart Season."

Fowler's short story collection, "Black Glass", won the World Fantasy Award in 1999, and her collection, "What I Didn't See," won the World Fantasy Award in 2011.

In 1991, Fowler collaborated with Pat Murphy to found the James Tiptree Jr. Award, a literary prize for science fiction or fantasy that "expands or explores our understanding of gender."

The Kelly Writers Series was established in 1998 with gifts from Marilou Morrell Kelly, a 1955 DePauw graduate.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: