GHS vocal, piano students earn awards at contest

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Greencastle High School students competed in the Jan. 30 Indiana State School Music Association Solo Ensemble Contest for Vocal and Piano at Terre Haute North Vigo High School.

Results are as follows.

Group III: Gold Award -- Kensie Bumgardner, vocal solo; Skyla Hart, vocal solo; Briar Heller, vocal solo; Hunter Zimmerman, vocal solo; Mandy Zheng, Kensie Bumgardner, Megan Manning, Hailey Walden, vocal ensemble.

Group II: Gold Award -- Madison Trout, piano solo.

Silver Award -- J. J. Custis, Luke Taylor, Brody Watson, Bryce King, vocal ensemble.

Group I: Gold Award -- Amy Gong, piano solo; Katie Rose Parsons, piano solo; Lokysa Scheuermann, piano solo; Madeline Graham, piano solo; Nicholas Seaman, piano solo; Simon Foss, piano solo; Cheyanna Strube, vocal solo; Hannah Brattain, vocal solo; Lindsey Bridgewater, vocal solo; Marian Jenkins, vocal solo; Michaela Semak, vocal solo; Reilly Anderson, vocal solo; Addison Hughes, vocal solo; Alex Pare', vocal Solo; Colin Dombrowski, vocal solo; David Maginity, vocal solo; Logan Beck, vocal solo; Zach Wilkerson, vocal solo; Bailey Lausee, Lauren Faulstich, Michaela Semak, Arianna Pershing, Hannah Miller, Hailey Turner, vocal ensemble; Tyler Lamb, Logan Beck, Alex Pare', Zach Wilkerson, Barbershop Quartet.

Silver Award -- Abigail King, vocal solo; Lily Spencer, vocal solo; Sharla Potter, vocal solo; Shelby Paxton, vocal solo; Bailey Lausee, Hannah Miller, Bailey Hudson, Lily Spencer, Michaela Semak, Shelby Paxton, vocal ensemble.

Students receiving Gold Awards in Group I will compete at State Solo/ Ensemble Contest at Perry Meridian High School on Saturday, Feb. 20.

Vocal students perform under the direction of Debby Lambert, choral director at GHS, with additional vocal coaching by Barbara Pare' and the accompanying assistance of Erica Brandon and Jill Dombrowski. Piano soloists are students of Maureen Carkeek, Amy Tharpe, Lori Mille, and Cheryl Beck.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: