DePauw’s Burguete, McManus honored with Eskew Awards

Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Polo Burguete

Polo Burguete of the men’s cross country and track and field teams and Sam McManus from the men’s swimming and diving squad have been selected DePauw’s top senior male student-athletes for 2017-18 by the University’s department of intercollegiate athletics as co-recipients of the Phil Eskew Award.

The Eskew Award is presented annually to a senior male student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

Burguete earned all-America honors at the 2018 NCAA Division III Track and Field Championships after finishing second in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and helping the team to its best finish ever at the Championships as the Tigers placed in a tie for 21st.

Sam McManus

Earlier in the spring he set the school’s steeplechase record and was the Most Valuable Player of both the cross country and track teams.

Burguete captured North Coast Athletic Conference outdoor track titles this year in the 5,000-meter run and the steeplechase to earn the conference’s mid-distance/distance MVP honors.

He placed second at the 2017 NCAC Cross Country Championships to earn first team all-conference honors after garnering second team accolades in 2015 and 2016. A three-time all-region honoree in cross country, Burguete qualified for the 2016 NCAA Division III Championships as an individual and also competed in 2017 as the Tigers earned qualification as a team.

McManus became DePauw’s fifth individual national champion when he won the 200-yard breaststroke at the 2018 NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships. He also finished second in the 100 breast for the program’s top-two individual finishes at the national championships.

McManus finished his career as a four-time all-America honoree in addition to one honorable mention all-America accolade.

The 2018 North Coast Athletic Conference 100 breast champion, McManus served as team captain as a senior.

McManus majored in history with a minor in economics and served on DePauw’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee as well as a Gobin Chapel intern. A member of the Phi Alpha Theta Honors Society, McManus studied abroad in Dublin, Ireland.

Other finalists for this year’s Eskew Award included Collin Einertson (baseball), Michael Kolbus (tennis) and Jeremy Trudell (football).

Hasbrook winner

Emma Baldwin, of the softball team, was named the recipient of the Amy Hasbrook Award as the top senior female student-athlete.

Baldwin, a kinesiology major and studio art minor on the softball team, was also DePauw’s NCAA Woman of the Year nominee.

She earned four varsity letters as a pitcher for the Tigers’ softball team. A two-time National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-Central Region selection, Baldwin earned all-NCAC honors all four years including first team selections each of the last three.

She earned a spot on the NCAC All-Tournament Team all four years including Most Valuable Player honors in 2015 and 2018.

Baldwin’s 20 career saves are a DePauw and NCAC record and rank in a tie for fifth in NCAA Division III history, while her 600 strikeouts are second in DePauw history and an NCAC record.

Baldwin helped lead DePauw to four NCAC titles, three NCAC Tournament championships, four NCAA Division III Championship appearances including a fifth-place national finish in 2015.

Other finalists for this year’s Hasbrook Award included Maddy Burds (field hockey), Melinda Franke (basketball), Keegan Kollias (volleyball) and Alyssa Seneviratne (tennis).

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: