North Putnam thespians to present 'Seussical' this weekend

Thursday, April 11, 2019

This weekend the North Putnam High School thespians will present "Seussical The Musical."

Show dates for the musical are Friday, April 12 and Saturday, April 13 at 7 p.m. and Sunday, April 14 at 3 p.m. Tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for students.

Rehearsing a scene from the North Putnam High School production of "Seussical The Musical" are Nate Copeland as Jojo and Zach Koll as The Cat in the Hat.

Sponsored by Bittles and Hurt Funeral Home and Hopkins-Rector Funeral Home, the show will bring to life everyone's favorite Dr. Seuss characters, including Horton the Elephant (Dylan Arnold), The Cat in the Hat (Zachary Koll), Gertrude McFuzz (Grace Elmore), lazy Mayzie (Josie Lyons) and a little boy with a big imagination -- Jojo (Nate Copeland).

The colorful characters transport the audience from the Jungle of Nool to the Circus McGurkus to the invisible world of the Whos.

The Cat in the Hat tells the story of Horton, an elephant who discovers a speck of dust that contains the Whos, including Jojo, a Who child sent off to military school, by his parents the Mayor of Whoville (Mason Allen) and his wife (Elizabeth Graves), for thinking too many "thinks."

Horton faces a double challenge: not only must he protect the Whos from a world of naysayers and dangers, but he must guard an abandoned egg, left in his care by the irresponsible Mayzie La Bird. Although Horton faces ridicule, danger, kidnapping and a trial, the intrepid Gertrude McFuzz never loses faith in him. Ultimately, the powers of friendship, loyalty, family and community are challenged and emerge triumphant.

Others in the cast Include the Sour Kangaroo (Kam Thornburg), Gen. Genghis Khan Schmitz (Kyle Young), Mayzie La Bird's Bird Girl backup singers (Taylor Hensly, Lexanne Fuchs, Hannah Clodfelter, Mady Williams), and the Wickersham Brothers (Gavin Brooksly, RJ Human, Aidan Millican). Joining the cast in ensemble is Luke Sanford, Asa Foxworthy, Taryn Thornburg, Grace Timm, Gabriela Louie, Sevyn Sellers, Lainey Willis, Madison Trotter, Madison Copeland, Jayden Jones, Breanna Richardson, Jade Ensch, Shakira Bule, Nakyhia Vaughan, Lily Gaddis, Jacky Gaddis, Gracie Sumners, Kylie Gilliam, Tucker Elmore, Ethan Lawler, Jaycee Farris and Allison Ballato.

The stage crew is led by Lauren Lotzow as stage manager and made up of Oliwia Werpochowska, Clara Alford, Lilly Skaggs, Sophia Lotzow and Tori Louie

The orchestra is conducted by Matthew Wargel with pit members Morgan Asher, Abigail Gaddis, Madelynn Burgess, Kim Kippert, Sara Solano, Darcie Cox, Mallori Sinnet, Dan Salono, Brett Asher, Madison McGuinness, Kaylie Hackleman, Alexi Sweet, Matthew Trotter, Joey Fields and Chris Ritchie.

The production staff includes Jason Lafever as vocal director, Kirstin Mindiola as choreographer, Shelly McFadden as costumer, Linda Gjesvold as set designer, Craig Armitage as tech director, and Dustin Bond as director.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: