Nolan Ginther named DePauw’s Phil Eskew Award winner

Thursday, June 17, 2021
Nolan Ginther

Nolan Ginther (Noblesville, Ind./Noblesville) of the men’s basketball team has been selected the 2021 Phil Eskew Award recipient as DePauw’s top senior male student-athlete. Ginther will be DePauw’s nominee for the North Coast Athletic Conference’s Don Hunsinger Award.

The Eskew Award is presented annually to a senior male student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

Ginther earlier was among 15 student-athletes selected to the CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) Division III Academic All-America® Men’s Basketball Team in voting by CoSIDA members. Ginther was named to the third team.

Graduating summa cum laude in May, Ginther was a double major in actuarial sciences and economics. He was inducted into both Phi Beta Kappa and Chi Alpha Sigma and was selected to the DePauw Dean’s List and Tiger Pride Honor roll every semester. Ginther also participated in the Peace Players Northern Ireland program.

On the court, Ginther finished his career ranked 24th in program history with 1,057 career points and 13th with 53.9% field goal shooting. He earned second team all-NCAC honors as a junior and honorable mention during his sophomore season. Ginther led the Tigers in scoring, rebound average and field goal percentage each of his last three seasons and in steals the last two.

In 2020-21, he helped DePauw to a 12-1 finish and a final ranking of 10th in the poll. Ginther averaged 19.3 points, 6.9 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 1.5 steals per contest and shot a school-record 64.2 percent from the field. In 2020-21, he was named to the Team of the Week once and was the NCAC Athlete of the Week on three occasions to move his career total to four selections.

Other finalists for this year’s Eskew Award included TJ Carney-DeBord (baseball), Ian Longan (swimming and diving), Bryce McClanahan (tennis), Tyler McCoy (lacrosse), Nathan Seifert (football) and Eddie Velez (soccer).

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook ‘00 and Phil Eskew Jr. ‘63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women’s basketball team and a 2019 DePauw Athletics Hall of Fame inductee who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw’s “D” Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletics Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.