DPU's Hertel to play in Aztec Bowl

Tuesday, November 21, 2006

DePauw University senior defensive end Dustin Hertel was selected to play for the American Football Coaches Association's Division III All-Star team that will represent the United States against the Mexican National Team in the 2006 Aztec Bowl on Dec. 16 in Aguascalientes, Mexico.

Hertel led the Tigers and the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference with an SCAC-record 27.5 tackles for loss, tallying 155 yards, a school-record 16 quarterback sacks and five forced fumbles.

He was second on the team in total tackles with 85 while also recovering three fumbles and intercepting a pass that he returned for a touchdown.

Hertel is the fourth DePauw player to earn the invitation to play in the Aztec Bowl, joining Tyler Kelley (1999), Jamarcus Shepherd (2004) and Chase Jonason (2005).

On Monday, Hertel also was named the SCAC Football Defensive Player of the Year and was among 15 Tigers to earn All-SCAC honors.

Hertel helped lead the Tigers to a 6-4 record this year. He was a first-team selection in 2004 and a second-team choice last year. He is the first DePauw player to earn Defensive Player of the Year honors in the Tigers' nine years of SCAC play.

Junior running back Jeremiah Marks also earned a first-team spot for the third-straight year.

He set a school-record this year with 1,117 rushing yards.

In addition, junior left guard Kerry Pappas earned a first-team spot for the second-straight year, while place kicker Tyler Mallory was a first-team choice for the first time.

Senior free safety Greg Sylvester rounded out DePauw's first-team choices after earning first-team honors in 2004 and second-team honors last year.

Sophomore center Ian Yearwood was thelong Tiger on the second-team offense, while senior end Luis Davila, sophomore tackle Michel McNelis, senior linebacker Eric Lewis and junior cornerback Jevon Pruitt earned spots on the second-team defense. Lewis was a first-team choice in 2004 and honorable mention last year.

Five Tigers also received honorable mention status this year, including seniors Brendan Berigan, Alex Boucher, Andy Brandstatter, Rob Farrow and freshman Bryan Mulligan.

Compiled by Jason Moon

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: