DPU players, coach earn honors

Thursday, November 29, 2007

In exclusive voting by the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference's nine head football coaches, 15 DePauw student-athletes earned spots on the all-conference team including five first teamers.

DePauw's first team selections include senior running back Jeremiah Marks (pictured right), senior left guard Kerry Pappas (pictured below), sophomore wide receiver Bryan Mulligan, junior defensive end Michael McNelis and senior cornerback Jevon Pruitt.

Marks, DePauw's all-time leading rusher and scorer and the SCAC's leading scorer, earned first team honors for the fourth straight year, while Pappas was a third-time first team selection. Pruitt and McNelis were second team choices last year and Mulligan an honorable mention selection.

Five players earned spots on the second team including junior center Ian Yearwood, sophomore quarterback Spud Dick, senior linebackers J.J. Costello and Ryan McElwain and freshman punter Adam Hill. Yearwood was also a second team choice in 2006.

Five Tigers also earned honorable mention including junior left tackle Casey Flinger, junior strong safety Marc Heppner, senior tight end Stephen Ellinger, freshman wide receiver Alex Koors and senior free safety Mike Sprengnether.

Marks picked up one vote for offensive player of the year honors, while Koors finished with three votes for newcomer of the year. Head coach Matt Walker, in his second season, recorded two votes in coach of the year voting.

DePauw finished the season with an 8-2 overall record and a 5-2 SCAC mark which was good for third place.

Moore Named Player of the Week

DePauw junior guard Mike Moore was named co-Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Week honors for his performances in games played, November 19-25. He shared the honor with Sewanee's Ben Pursell.

Moore was named MVP of the Mike Rokicki Community Versus Cancer Challenge as the Tigers went 2-0 and captured the tourney title.

Moore had a career-high 28 points in Saturday's win over Marian (Ind.), and averaged 23.5 points and 9.0 assists per game for the weekend. He shot 61.1 percent (11-18) from the field, including 60.0 percent (9-15) from three-point range.

On the season, Moore is averaging 15.3 points (12th in the SCAC) and a league-leading 9.25 assists per game. He is shooting 43.8 percent from the field and 84.0 percent (ninth in the SCAC) from the foul line. Moore's 3.0 three-point field goals made per game is good for a tie for sixth in the conference.

Coach earns Coach of the Year honors

DePauw cross country coach Kori Stoffregen, who led the Tigers to their seventh Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Women's Cross Country Championship and fifth straight, was named the conference's Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year in voting by the league's coaches.

Stoffregen, head cross country and track coach at DePauw since 1996, also directed the Tigers to the program's best national finish in school history with a seventh-place showing at the Division III Championships.

Including competition in both the SCAC and the former Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference, the 1989 Wartburg College graduate has earned 24 conference coach of the year honors in his career including each of the last five years in women's cross country and seven total. Stoffregen has also earned top coach honors seven times in men's cross country, six times in men's track and field and four times in women's track and field.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: