Sens. Lawson, Bray honor DePauw for its 175th anniversary

Friday, February 17, 2012

State Sens. Connie Lawson (R-Danville) and Richard Bray (R-Martinsville) led the Senate this week in recognizing the 175th anniversary of DePauw University, which was established in 1837 by the Indiana Methodist Episcopal Conference.

"DePauw University is without a doubt, the heartbeat of our community," Sen. Lawson said. "Its faculty, students, staff and programs breathe life into so many aspects of this area.

"While I am in awe at how DePauw has had international influence with its scholars and programs, I am also very grateful for what this school has meant to our little corner of the world."

Senate Concurrent Resolution 18, authored by Lawson and Bray, honored the university for its dedication to providing students from across the nation and the world with a quality liberal arts education.

The resolution also praised the dedicated faculty members, who are devoted to teaching and recognized for their scholarship, who encounter students in intentionally small settings in an effort to promote intellectual rigor and transformation.

"DePauw University has a rich tradition in offering students extraordinary leadership opportunities marked by a culture of engagement in student organizations and service to others," Sen. Bray said. "Graduates of DePauw are enlightened citizens and leaders who are at the forefront of their fields and leave a meaningful impact on their communities, states, nations and world."

The resolution included a special recognition for the DePauw School of Music, established in 1884, for being the oldest institution for post-secondary music instruction in Indiana and one of the first created in the nation.

Rep. Jim Baird (R-Greencastle) will sponsor the SCR 18 in the House of Representatives.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: