Two takes on 'The Tempest' staged Saturday at Playhouse

Thursday, June 28, 2012
Featured in the ship storm scene in "Tempest in Paradise," the high school group production of the Putnam County Playhouse Youth Theater workshop, are (front, from left) Cody Warren, Abby Cheek, Joe Pejril, Joe Lippard, Chloe Maginity, Mary Pearl Ivy, (back, from left) Madi Egold, Dylan Bodnarick, Lukas Eckrich, Abbie Harms, Sammy Batchelor, Ciara Lippard, Mary Allen and Libby Brush.

The "Shakepeared!" production of "The Tempest" by the Putnam County Playhouse Youth Theater Workshop will be staged Saturday, June 30, at 7 p.m.

Tickets are available only at the door. Admission is $3 for those 12 years old and up. Admission is free to those younger than 12. Tickets are general admission.

The workshop is sponsored by Duke Energy Foundation.

First up will be the middle school group, directed by Alisa Isaacs-Bailey. Featured in this version of "The Tempest" are Hannah Williams, Chloe Bodnarick, Djasi Falcon, Addison Hughes, Joe Hettinger and Ben Gellman.

Appearing in other roles are Simon Foss, David Maginity, Emma Newton, Jon DeHaan, Lindsey Bridgewater, Corinne Buchanan and Liam Guinee.

Rounding out the cast in the middle school group are Jakob Foss, Zander Williams, Emma Huber, Shianna Alexander, Zoe Wilson, Tyler Hopper, Mackenzie Wilson and Madi Woodall.

Assistant director for the younger group is Bethany Bax, while working on the technical side are Lauren Good, Jacob Bax and Cecily Bax.

After a 15-minute intermission, the high school group -- directed by Caroline Good (who adapted both scripts from Shakespeare's text) -- will take the stage with "Tempest in Paradise."

Actors in the older group include Ethan Gill, Dominique Lafontant, Hannah Gellman, Logan Beck, Cody Warren, Joe Pejril, Lukas Eckrich and Dylan Bodnarick.

Featured in the middle school cast production of "The Tempest," as presented by the Putnam County Playhouse Youth Theater Workshop Saturday night, are (from left) Zander Williams, Ben Gellman, David Maginity, Simon Foss, Jakob Foss, Joe Hettinger, Jon DeHaan, Emma Newton, Lindsey Bridgewater and Tyler Hopper.

Appearing with them will be Joe Lippard, Abby Cheek, Madi Egold, Mary Pearl Ivy, Chloe Maginity, Abbie Harms, Sammy Batchelor and Libby Brush.

Completing the older cast are Mary Allen, Ciara Lippard, Caleb Guthrie, Elise Merrell, Corrinne Trigg and Fiona Good.

Assistant director for the second group is TJ Tincher with choreography by Heather Owens. Technical assistance is by Lauren Good and Jessica Maginity. Island Jewelry is by Jessica Masner.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: