Indiana Society of Chicago to honor DPU, Lee Hamilton

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

CHICAGO -- When the Indiana Society of Chicago Foundation hosts the its 107th annual dinner Saturday, the spotlight will be shining on DePauw University.

The society, founded more than 100 years ago by Hoosier notables George Ade and John McCutcheon and others attracted to the city at the peak of the industrial revolution, pays homage to its roots each year by recognizing outstanding Indiana institutions and leaders in a high-spirited holiday season celebration.

This year the foundation will honor DePauw University, which is in the midst of its 175th anniversary celebration, as well as a DPU alumnus, former Congressman Lee Hamilton, as the "Hoosier of the Year."

Hamilton, a veteran statesman and 1952 graduate of DePauw, is now director of The Center on Congress at Indiana University.

Hamilton spent 34 years in the U.S. House of Representatives and has been an important voice on international relations and American national security for almost a half-century.

"DePauw and Chicago have a long and proud connection, with many alumni leaving our campus to contribute to the city's greatness and heritage," DPU President Brian W. Casey said. "In 1837, DePauw was founded and Chicago was incorporated as a city, so it's fitting that we gather in this anniversary year and celebrate our great connections and the promise of the future."

Recognized as one of America's top liberal arts colleges, DePauw was founded by the Methodist Church as Indiana Asbury. Known since 1884 as DePauw, the university is a private, selective, coeducational, residential, undergraduate College of Liberal Arts with a School of Music, which is the sixth oldest in the nation.

DePauw's 2,390 students come from 46 states and 36 foreign countries. A full-time faculty of 234 ensures class sizes that average fewer than 18 students, engendering a rigorous academic environment that encourages participation, expression and individual attention to students' needs.

In addition to Hamilton, noted alumni of DePauw include bestselling authors Barbara Kingsolver and John Jakes; Dan Quayle, the 44th vice president of the United States; civil rights leader and presidential adviser Vernon Jordan; pioneering chemist Percy Julian; "Angie's List" co-founder Angie Hicks; ESPN founders Bill and Scott Rasmussen; Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author James B. Stewart; and Butler University basketball coach Brad Stevens, to name but a few.

While members of the Indiana Society of Chicago Foundation span business, government, education and other professions, all share enduring ties to the Hoosier State, be it work, education and/or birthplace.

An important additional mission of the Indiana Society is to provide scholarship assistance to greater Chicago area students attending colleges and universities in Indiana. This year the foundation will award four scholarships to deserving DePauw students.

The Indiana Society's annual dinner will take place in the Imperial Ballroom of the Fairmont Hotel at Chicago's Millennium Park.

Saturday's event will include entertainment by "American English," a Beatles tribute band voted Best Tribute Band and Illinois Entertainer of the Year.

The evening will also feature an appearance by Miss Indiana 2012, MerrieBeth Cox.

For dinner tickets and more information, persons may contact Madeleine Lebedow at or 847-673-2013.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: