Chamber accepting Citizen of the Year Award nominations

Monday, December 10, 2012

The Greater Greencastle Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors is now accepting nominations for the 2012 Citizen of the Year Award

The winner will be announced during the annual membership dinner of the Chamber of Commerce on Saturday, Jan. 26.

The Citizen of the Year award has been presented by the Chamber of Commerce to some of Putnam County's finest residents since 1982.

The Chamber is seeking that special individual dedicated to the success of Putnam County to receive this prestigious award. The selection is based upon the degree to which the individual has made Putnam County a better community in which to live, work and raise a family.

The 2012 winner will succeed Judge Diana LaViolette, the 2012 winner.

A nominee must be a resident of Putnam County for five or more years and have given extended service to the county in more than one area.

Neither the nominees nor the individual making the nomination have to be members of the Chamber of Commerce. Anyone wishing to make a nomination is encouraged to do so by the end of the business day on Monday, Jan. 7.

Nominations can be made on an 8 1/2 by 11 sheet of plain paper. Include the nominee's name, address and the reason in detail for his or her nomination. The Chamber also needs the name, address and phone number of the person or persons making the nomination.

Entries may be mailed or hand delivered to the Chamber of Commerce office at 16 S. Jackson St., Greencastle. However, nominations will not be accepted over the phone, by word of mouth or via e-mail or fax.

Anyone who has questions about the award or the dinner may contact Chamber Executive Director Tammy Amor at 653-4517.

A list of Chamber of Commerce Citizens of the Year

Hazel Day Longden, 1982
Hubert Clodfelter, 1983
Howard Williams, 1984
Bessie Rector, 1985
Mace Aker, 1986
Bobby G. Albright, 1987
Gerald E. Warren, 1988
David Barr, 1989
Jim Harris, 1990
Dr. James Johnson, 1991
Charles Chandler, 1992
Bob Evans, 1993
Julia "Judy" Johnson, 1994
Jerald D. Calbert, 1995
Harold Spicer, 1996
Jinsie Bingham, 1997
Dave Young, 1998
Barbara Lane, 1999
Ellen Sedlack, 2000
Lynn Wilson, Denise Sigworth and Rachel Seipel, 2001
Mike Rokicki, 2002
Joy Marley, 2003
Charles Miles, 2004
Judge Sally Gray, 2005
Dr. Donald Brattain, 2006
Chuck Schroeder, 2007
Lynn Bohmer, 2008
Ken Heeke, 2009
Becky Brothers, 2010
Judge Diana LaViolette, 2011

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: