Pollster Rasmussen to give anniversary lecture Feb. 20

Saturday, February 16, 2013
Scott Rasmussen

Scott Rasmussen, the 1986 DePauw University graduate who has been called "today's leading insurgent pollster ... (and) a key player in the contact sport of politics" by the Wall Street Journal, will return to his alma mater Wednesday, Feb. 20 to present a 175th Anniversary Distinguished Alumni Lecture.

The program will begin at 8 p.m. in Meharry Hall, located within historic East College. Attendance is free and the speech is open to all.

Founder and president of Rasmussen Reports, Rasmussen is a political analyst, author, speaker and, since 1994, an independent public opinion pollster.

He founded Rasmussen Reports LLC in 2003 as a media company specializing in the collection, publication and distribution of public opinion polling information.

Rasmussen Reports provides in-depth data, news coverage and commentary on political, business, economic and lifestyle topics at RasmussenReports.com, America's most visited public opinion polling site.

Rasmussen and his firm have developed a reputation for delivering reliable, newsworthy and actionable public opinion data.

National political commentator Michael Barone calls him "one of America's most innovative pollsters." Pat Caddell and Doug Schoen, pollsters for Presidents Jimmy Carter and Bill Clinton, cite Rasmussen's "unchallenged record for both integrity and accuracy."

A history major at DePauw, Rasmussen authored "The People's Money, Mad as Hell: How the Tea Party Movement is Fundamentally Remaking Our Two-Party System," "In Search of Self-Governance" and "Solving the Budget Crisis: Hope for America's Future."

He co-founded ESPN with his father Bill Rasmussen, a 1954 DePauw graduate who presented a 175th Anniversary Distinguished Alumni Lecture in October.

The programs will continue through the university's 175th anniversary celebration, which began Jan. 10, 2012 and goes through June 2013.

Also scheduled to deliver Distinguished Alumni Lectures as part of DePauw's 175th anniversary series are:

-- Nobel Prize winner Dr. Ferid Murad, whose work involving the effect of nitric oxide on the cardiovascular system helped create Viagra and related drugs, Class of 1958, March 9 at 4 p.m..

-- New York Philharmonic choral director and founder/director of New York Choral Artists group Joseph Flummetfelt, Class of 1958, lecturing at 1:30 p.m. April 7, followed by a 3 p.m. concert.

-- Fox News Channel anchor Brett Baier, Class of 1992, date TBA.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: