Nominations sought for 2013 Chamber Citizen of the Year

Sunday, December 15, 2013

The Greater Greencastle Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Citizen of the Year Award.

The winner will be announced during the annual membership dinner of the Chamber of Commerce on Saturday, Jan. 25 at the Dixie Chopper Business Center.

The Citizen of the Year award has been presented by the Chamber of Commerce to some of Putnam County's finest residents since 1982.

The Chamber is seeking that special individual dedicated to the success of Putnam County to receive this prestigious award. The selection is based upon the degree to which the individual has made Putnam County a better community in which to live, work and raise a family.

The 2013 winner will succeed Putnam County Food Pantry Director Judy Miller, the 2012 winner.

Other previous winners have been Hazel Day Longden, the inaugural recipient in 1982; Hubert Clodfelter, 1983; Howard Williams, 1984; Bessie Rector, 1985; Mace Aker, 1986; Bobby G. Albright, 1987; Gerald E. Warren, 1988; David Barr, 1989; Jim Harris, 1990; Dr. James Johnson, 1991; Charles Chandler, 1992; Bob Evans, 1993; Julia "Judy" Johnson, 1994; Jerald D. Calbert, 1995; Harold Spicer, 1996; Jinsie Bingham, 1997; Dave Young, 1998; Barbara Lane, 1999; Ellen Sedlack, 2000; the trio of Lynn Wilson, Denise Sigworth and Rachel Seipel in 2001; Mike Rokicki, 2002; Joy Marley, 2003; Charles Miles, 2004; Judge Sally Gray, 2005; Dr. Donald "Doc" Brattain, 2006; Charles "Chuck" Schroeder, 2007; Lynn Bohmer, 2008; Ken Heeke, 2009; Becky Brothers, 2010, and Judge Diana LaViolette, 2011.

A nominee must be a resident of Putnam County for five or more years and have given extended service to the county in more than one area.

Neither the nominees nor the individual making the nomination have to be members of the Chamber of Commerce. Anyone wishing to make a nomination is encouraged to do so by the end of the business day on Monday, Jan. 6.

Nominations can be made on an 8 1/2 by 11 sheet of plain paper. Include the nominee's name, address and the reason in detail for his or her nomination. The Chamber also needs the name, address and phone number of the person or persons making the nomination.

Entries may be mailed or hand delivered to the Chamber of Commerce office at 16 S. Jackson St., Greencastle. However, nominations will not be accepted over the phone, by word of mouth or via e-mail or fax.

Anyone who has questions about the award or the annual dinner may contact Chamber Executive Director Tammy Johnson at 653-4517.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: