All GMS musicians earn gold at ISSMA state solo, ensemble contest

Thursday, February 11, 2016

Greencastle Middle School instrumental students competed in the Indiana State School Music Association (ISSMA) Solo and Ensemble competition Saturday, Feb. 6 at Terre Haute North High School.

There are five different groups a student could enter from Group V (easier music) to Group I (very difficult). Each solo and ensemble is graded in several different categories, including intonation, tone quality, note and rhythm accuracy, interpretation, dynamics and musicianship. Points are awarded and final ratings given from gold to participation.

A total of 31 GMS individual and ensemble performances all received Gold Division awards in their respective groups.

The GMS bands are directed by Kathryn Dory.

The results are as follows:

Group V

Gold Division -- Carter Brown - Trombone Solo; Ben Huff - Trombone Solo; Bijou Champagne - Trumpet Solo; Molly Carver -- Clarinet Solo; Jordie Voorhis -- Snare Drum Solo; Maieasha Rashid -- Flute Solo; Casey Crary -- Alto Sax Solo; Danielle Spicer, Pyper Taylor and Madison Voorhis -- Woodwind Trio; Audrie Brennan, Fiona Good, Vincent Martoglio, Iris Mackenzie, and Bijou Champagne -- Brass Quintet; Iris Mackenzie, Ben Staggers, Lilyan Barker and Evan Harris -- Trumpet Quartet; Maieasha Rashid, Harley Whitis and Andrew Thede -- Woodwind Trio; Carter Brown, Simon Lausee and Fiona Good -- Brass Trio; Juliette Tomamichael, Amanda Cady and Kadence Shaner -- Clarinet Trio; Jacob Carter; Stephen Dombrowski and Casey Crary -- Sax Trio; Molly Carver, Rylan Foxx and Jacob Seiger -- Woodwind Trio.

Group IV

Gold Division -- Selene Seaman - Flute Solo; Allison Scott - Trumpet Solo; Katie White -- Trumpet Solo; Sydney Anderson -- Alto Sax Solo; Neva Brown - Clarinet Solo; Molly Ramey - Alto Sax Solo; Paige Kaiser -- Clarinet Solo; Brandon Lamb -- Baritone Solo; Katie White, Gracelin Sanders, Alexa Travelstead and Grant Pettit -- Brass Quartet; Zoe Weltz, Molly Ramey and Anastasia Wood -- Sax Trio; Ethan Maier, Mary Katherine Asbell and Jordie Voorhis -- Snare Drum Trio; Paige Kaiser, Bailey Williams and Mabel Lewis -- Woodwind Trio.

Group III

Gold Division -- Sal Martoglio -- Flute Solo; Michael White -- Trumpet Solo; Renee Stimpert, Henry Carter and Oliver Mackenzie -- Sax Trio.

Group II

Gold Division -- Ben Wilkerson - Trombone Solo.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: