Becca St. Germain named DePauw's Amy Hasbrook Award winner

Thursday, June 17, 2021
Becca St. Germain

Becca St. Germain (Plainfield, Ill./Plainfield South) has been selected DePauw’s 2021 Amy Hasbrook Award recipient as the top senior female student-athlete. St. Germain will be DePauw’s nominee for the North Coast Athletic Conference’s Pam Smith Award and the NCAA Woman of the Year Award.

The Hasbrook Award is presented annually to a senior female student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

St. Germain was a National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) second team all-America selection at catcher this season and helped the Tigers to a 40-5 overall record and a tie for third at the NCAA Division III Championship.

She was the North Coast Athletic Conference Player of the Year this season and a second team choice in 2018 and led the Tigers to two conference titles. St. Germain batted .385 this year and led the squad with 42 hits, 13 doubles, 34 runs batted in, a .615 slugging percentage and shared the team lead with four homers.

Her .386 career batting average ranks fourth in school history, while her .597 slugging percentage is sixth. St. Germain’s 38 career doubles are tied for sixth in school history and her 11 homers are eighth with her 13 doubles this year tied for fifth in a DePauw season.

A kinesiology major, Italian minor and three-time selection to the DePauw Dean’s List, St. Germain was named to the Tiger Pride Honor Roll each of the last four semesters and has served as a student tutor in Italian. She participated in the Reading is Fundamental philanthropy as well as Feed My Starving Children.

Other finalists for this year’s Hasbrook Award included Claire Keefe (basketball), Natalie Kelley (soccer), Abigail Lodge (lacrosse), Amanda Showalter (tennis) and Cathy Zesiger (field hockey).

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook ‘00 and Phil Eskew Jr. ‘63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women’s basketball team and a 2019 DePauw Athletics Hall of Fame inductee who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw’s “D” Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletics Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.