[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 45°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Nine Tigers earn All-SCAC honors

Monday, February 26, 2007

Liz Bondi
Nine DePauw University basketball players and one coach were honored by the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference this weekend.

Five DPU women's players were selected to the 2006-07 All-SCAC team this year. In addition, DePauw coach Kris Huffman was named the conference Coach of the Year.

Tiger senior Liz Bondi was named the SCAC Player of the Year for the second straight season.

Bondi became the fourth consecutive DePauw women's player to earn the league's highest honor following Amy Argetsinger, who was also a back-to-back winner in 2004 and 2005.

Bondi is now one of four players to win the women's basketball honor in consecutive seasons.

She finished the regular season with an average of 16.1 points per game, while also averaging six rebounds per contest and 1.6 steals. She also averaged 0.7 blocks per game and was eighth in the league in free throw shooting percentage at 77 percent.

Bondi also led the league in field goal shooting percentage for the second straight season at 62 percent.

She currently ranks eighth in DePauw history in points scored and free throws made, fifth in blocks and second in field goal percentage.

In addition to the two basketball honors, Bondi has also been named the SCAC Women's Tennis Player of the Year in the past two seasons. Only two other SCAC student-athletes have won four or more Player of the Year honors during the course of their careers.

Huffman is in her 14th season at DePauw, and led the Tigers to their 10th 20-plus win season in the past 11 seasons. The team has made seven NCAA championship appearances in the last 11 years.

Huffman is the winningest coach in DPU history with a 295-82 record and a 161-27 mark in the SCAC. She has been named the SCAC Coach of the Year five times, the most of any other women's basketball coach in league history.

In addition to Bondi and Huffman receiving SCAC honors, DePauw junior guard Kalei Lowes was named the 2006-07 SCAC Top Defender of the Year.

Joining Bondi on the All-SCAC First Team were Tori Hughes of Hendrix, Bonnie Hicks of Hendrix, Ashley Farrell of Rhodes and Oglethorpe's Katie Kulavic.

Making the second team this year were DePauw's Suzy Doughty, Southwestern's Kendal George, Trinity's Krista Prato Matthews, and Oglethorpe's Biz Richmann and Anna Findley.

The third team consisted of Trinity's Lauren Andrews and Meghan Scholbe, Austin's Katy Williams, Centre's Chelsea Goodwin, DePauw's Gretchen Haehl, and Sewanee's Dani Pettay.

Williams was also named the SCAC Women's Newcomer of the Year.

DePauw's Cassie Pruzin also earned honorable mention status.

Five DePauw men's players were also honored by the SCAC.

Austin Brown made the All-SCAC First Team along with Centre's Matt Nestheide, Edrick Montgomery of Millsaps, Andrew King of Hendrix, and Oglethorpe's Andrew Tulowitzky.

The SCAC Second Team consisted by DePauw's Stephen Schott and Mike Moore, along with Centre's Matt Jacobson, Rodney Rogan of Millsaps, and Oglethorpe's Ahmad Kareem Shaheed.

The third team included Centre's John Patterson, Rhodes' Cory Smith, Sewanee's Spencer Rowland, and Trinity's Charles Houston and B.J. Moon.

Nestheide was named the Men's Basketball Player of the Year while Centre's Danny Noll was named Newcomer of the Year.

Patterson was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year and Centre coach Greg Mason was named Coach of the Year.

DePauw's Reid Sakel also earned honorable mention status.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: